NYC in mere days...


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ica » Pisco
January 14th 2008
Published: May 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Project Pisco has officially come to a close. After spending 125 out of 126 days here in Pisco, I leave this dusty town behind tomorrow night (Monday January 14, 2008) and head to Arequipa in the southern part of the country. Some of you are aware that I was an exchange student in Arequipa many many years ago. I have been in this country for just over four months and haven't yet seen the host family who was so kind to me so long ago. I plan to spend a little over a week visiting with my host family and other friends in the area and basically.....RELAX! Boy do I need that.......

After leaving Arequipa, I head straight to Lima and fly out on the 23rd. I will be in the New York/Boston area for only 8 days, sorting visas and visiting with friends. If any of you out there live in or near the NY or Boston area and we haven't yet had this conversation, I would love to squeeze you in for even just a few minutes or an afternoon lunch or something. My friend Karen from Brooklyn, another dedicated Hands On volunteer I met in Biloxi and worked again with in the Philippines and Peru, is organizing a get-together in New York "somewhere" on the night of the 26th of January. Please, I would love to have others out there be part of this "reunion," so let me know soon so we can get something put together.

I have a flight on the 31st of January from JFK to Mumbai, India, where I will then meet up with Emma, first time volunteer here in Peru. We will travel by train across India to Calcutta, where we will then take a bus overland, crossing the Bangladesh border heading towards Khulna, a sizable city in the southwest, somewhere near our next deployment site.

Yes, that's correct. I am heading to Bangladesh. How could I not? Hands On officially started its sixth deployment on January 5th and there is no way I can miss this one! This will be my fifth.

Thank you, again, to everyone who helped me with funds to Bangladesh. I wouldn't have been able to do it without y'all!! I will be sending out more personal thank yous as soon as things calm down on this end....meaning, once I get to Arequipa!

All my best to each and every one of you for the coming year and beyond......


Advertisement



Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0166s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1016.1kb