Hola!!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco
February 8th 2008
Published: February 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hola!! That's about all I have learned after a weeks spanish lessons!! In Cusco, Peru at the moment. Have been working in a bar the past week while taking spanish lessons.

Since the last post, I have been to New Zealand, Chile and now Peru. New Zealand is amazing - scenery in the the South Island is just the best. The North Island is similar to Ireland - lots of farmland and sheep!! Although New Zealand is amazing, it ain't cheap!! Didn't get to see much of Chile. Had only 3 days in Santiago. My time in Peru has been spent in Cusco. This is where the backpackers come to begin their inca trek. I started my trek on the 30th of January - just before the trek closes for February. Inca trek was brillaint. Great group of people, with great porters and guides. The trek to Macchu Picchu is a 4 day slog. At one point we were 4,250 metres above sea level! Altitude sickness was playing its part on a lot of the trekkers.

Off to Bolivia on Monday. Planning a journey up to Rurrenbaque from La Paz - a journey that takes in the worst road
Fellow TrekkersFellow TrekkersFellow Trekkers

As you can see I carried a small bag - the rest carried big backpacks - they would regret not hiring a porter!!
in the world according to many tourists!

Ciao,

Ciaran


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

PorterPorter
Porter

Just some of my belongings that I got the porter to carry!!
Inside the tentInside the tent
Inside the tent

Me and Jane inside our tent
Sun GateSun Gate
Sun Gate

This picture was taken at about 6a.m. on the final day. Took about an hours hard trekking to get here. On a good day this is the first place you will see Macchu Picchu. There were about 5 different groups trying to be the first to get here - I won of course!! But couldn't see a bloody thing!!!
Macchu PicchuMacchu Picchu
Macchu Picchu

The group arriving at Macchu Picchu
Macchu PicchuMacchu Picchu
Macchu Picchu

After 4 days of really hard trekking - this was what it was all about.
Macchu PicchuMacchu Picchu
Macchu Picchu

My first glimpse
LegendLegend
Legend

My mate Andrew Glastonbury. Rode his first winner at Cheltenham last year. I reckon it could have been me if Mike bought that horse!!


10th February 2008

Bomb
Looks the bomb!

Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb