Journal excerpt


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco
January 19th 2008
Published: January 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sitting in the highest, Irish-owned pub in the world. What can I say? I wanted a beer.
Looking into a stone plaza beside the stone church, one of many. The ancient Inca stones mingling with those of the Spanish conquistadores, like the blood of the people. It´s another one of those "I can´t believe I´m here" moments. Magical. Mysterious. This place seeps into your bones like a cat burgler and you begin to imagine that you belong to the ancient stones and the lush green mountains.

In my Spanish class this morning, my profesora and I talked a little about the mother tongue of Peru, Quechua The very name of this town is an indian word, anglosized to Cusco from it´s original Quosqo. Machu Pic´chu is a Quechua word as well, the first "c" being pronounced like a guttaral "h". This is not a dead language either. The Peruvians are very aware of, and proud of, their heritage and a huge percentage of the population speak Quechua and it is taught in the schools as well.

Did my gift shopping in the market today. Bought a gigantic bag of coca leaves from an old Mestizo lady for 2 soles (.69 cents). Also purchased some items from the lady I talked to yesterday and when I tried to barter with her she paused and said "Esta mercado is muy economico." (This market is very cheap). I asked if that meant that her price was firm and she confirmed that it was. The 4 items I bought are still a deal for 70 soles ($25CDN)

Advertisement



21st January 2008

the market
I'm not sure you could buy 4 or ANYTHING here for $25. Do the people seem happy? Quite the wonderful adventure you're on, my friend. K

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb