Miss Typhoid Fever


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
July 13th 2006
Published: July 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Clinica Pardo / Tourist Floor!Clinica Pardo / Tourist Floor!Clinica Pardo / Tourist Floor!

Couldn't do much with that IV attatched to my arm!
Hello! Well, as some of you already know, I never made it to the river for my adventurous whitewater rafting trip. Instead, I spent the entire weekend in the hospital! On Friday morning (while sleeping) I started feeling nauseous but attributed it to simply being nervous. But, sure enough, I woke up around 6am vomiting, terrible headache, and doubled over with a stomach ache. The whitewater company kept insisting it was all altitude sickness and that I'd recover if I just got down to a lower altitude. But I was so sick I could barely walk so I told them I couldn't go. Finally, after I was able to control the vomiting I decided that a little visit to the doctor couldn't do any harm (after all, I had already spent 4 of 6 days in bed. My chest was hurting but again, everyone thought it was "Soroche" (a.k.a. altitude sickness) By the time the doctor saw me, my heart rate was at 120bpm instead of 80bpm and my blood pressure was very low. After doing blood tests, urine tests, an EKG, & an ultrasound they gave me the bad news: Thypoid Fever. By that time I was so weak that
La Señora BertaLa Señora BertaLa Señora Berta

Taking care of me: my jello diet!
I nearly fainted on my way out of the hospital so they decided I needed to stay (esp. with a possibility of a heart attack) So, I spent Friday, Saturday, and was finally able to leave Sunday afternoon. They allowed me to call Daniel and my family...but as you can imagine....everyone was ready to come down here and get me!
Luckily the Senora was with me and visited me twice a day. I am on a strict diet ("bland") with no fat, no fried, no cokes, no nothing...only clear soup, jello, fruits, bread, etc. She has been great at taking care of me.

With all of the antibiotics, I'm feeling fine. In fact, they told me I caught it at a very early stage. It appears that I contracted it in Lima...most likely eating at a McDonalds or a "bad" egg. Everyone is very surprised.

I'm back in action now--I finally was able to tour the city yesterday and see some of the Inca Ruins. Sacsayhuaman (pronounced "Sexy Woman") is the greatest and nearest to Cusco of the ruins and showed some of the most extraordinary architecture and monumental stonework. We also visited other sites with beautiful landscapes
Cusco: QoricanchaCusco: QoricanchaCusco: Qoricancha

Looking out from the Golden Courtyard
and incredible history.

I am still attending classes at Wiracocha Spanish School.. one-on-one..with personalized teaching. I am enjoying it and, once again, really practicing a lot. There's no one to speak English to! After classes I'm trying to see as much of the city as possible, especially after losing so many days. Today I took the "Transvia" Cable Car around town to see different places I didn't know about.

It's still quite cold here, but I'm getting used to it. Tomorrow I leave (HOPEFULLY!!) to Lake Titicaca. I will tour several islands and stay with a family..(no electricity) I'll be back Monday morning.

Keep in touch!
Jen





Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

TranViaTranVia
TranVia

A fun way to see the city


14th July 2006

wow
Wow, I am impressed, this sounds like an amazing trip. You are so lucky to go on these adventures!!!! I'm sorry you got sick, I hope you're feeling better, stay well! Looks like you had a sweet lady to take care of you.
14th July 2006

Dear Jen
Jen, Siento mucho que te hayas enfermado tan mal alla...pobre de ti. Pero bueno, ya tienes experiencia, como cuando te enfermaste en Monterrey...Que bueno que ya estas bien y que estas conociendo lugares tan bonitos. Ten cuidado y hablamos cuando regreses. Un abrazo, Claudia

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb