Surviving the Altitude


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
July 7th 2006
Published: July 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Hou - Cuzco

Houston - Miami - Lima - Cuzco

My first time in a "Moto-Taxi"!My first time in a "Moto-Taxi"!My first time in a "Moto-Taxi"!

I have to admit, this was quite an interesting experience.
Hello everyone! I can't believe it's only been one week since I left Texas. I arrived in Lima, the only International airport in Peru, last Thursday and spent the weekend with my friend Ingrid at her house. Lima reminded me a lot of Monterrey (Mexico). Truthfully, I wasn't very impressed with the city. In fact, my guide book nearly recommended bypassing it altogether with the exception of a handful of interesting landmarks. I enjoyed looking out at the ocean and the "Plaza de Armas" (the main plaza) was also very nice. Friday was Ingrid's birthday so she invited a few friends and family members over to the house. Although a few people decided to leave at 4:00am I was exhausted by 4:45am and left the others to continue the party. Several stayed until 6:00 am and others until 8:00am!! I guess it's somewhat common to do an "all-nighter" I enjoyed talking with everyone and meeting her friends/family members. After watching the World Cup games the next day we went down to the "centro" to take a look around. Using public transportation was very interesting! Instead of busses they have these old Volkswagon vans and a guy hangs out the door yelling at everyone who might be interested in getting on. That night we went to a neat Folklore dance show and I ended up going straight to the airport (3am) because my flight left at 6am. Surprisingly the airport was buzzing even at 4am.
On Sunday when I arrived in Cuzco I immediately noticed the change in temperature. It's between 30 - 60 degrees everyday. The main problem, however, is that there is NO HEATING!! So at all times (inside the house, at school, etc.) I am wearing long underwear, jeans, a shirt, a sweater and my big jacket. I am staying at a house with a Peruvian family who has been very nice and helpful. I have really enjoyed it so far. The Senora feeds mu three meals a day. On M-W-F all of her kids/grandkids come over. Luckily they have a hot water heater (it's fairly uncommon) but having to undress in 30 degree weather is not pleasant. Every night the Senora gives me a bottle of hot water which I carry around in my hands or inside my jacket. At nights I sleep in long pants, socks, and a long sleeved shirt with five blankets and my little
Folklore DanceFolklore DanceFolklore Dance

Brisas Lago Titicaca Folklore Show
bottle of hot water! But....I'm getting used to it. The other difficulty has been adjusting to the altitude. Cuzco is quite possibly one of the highest cities in South America. We are at "high altitude" which is 12,000 feet above sea level. I have had a headache on and off now for 5 days. The first day I was naseous and nearly fainted...but little by little, my body has acclimated. Next week I need to start training for my 5 day hike to Machu Picchu!
Tomorrow morning I am headed off to do a 3 day whitewater rafting excursion to the Apurimac River (said to be one of the 10 best rafting excursions in the world). Hopefully I'll have some good pictures to share.
Until then-
Jen



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Mountain TopsMountain Tops
Mountain Tops

Salkentay Mountain


7th July 2006

Jen!!! OMG. Beautiful photos. I'm working away at my computer full time with Florida Virtual School. Have a great time!
7th July 2006

Hey travel lady
This is so awesome. Thank you for sending/sharing this with me. You know I always like to know how you are and hope you are happy and well. This is also my first time to view a blog, really. Good luck on the hike and take care.

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 7; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb