Ahora Cuzco


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
July 27th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hungry?Hungry?Hungry?

I just love photgraphing markets
The flight to Cuzco was probably the coolest flight I have ever taken. I though flying over Alaska was amazing and this blew it away. Usually when you fly there is not really anything to look at, but on this flight you could not help but be amazed at the glory and splendor of the Andes. You are on the plane for about 10 or 15 minutes way above the clouds and all of a sudden you see these amazing mountains peaking through the top of the clouds. I have never seen anything like it. After a while instead of seeing just the tips of the mountains, you begin to see the whole landscape of the mountain. The Andes are so high that they are above the clouds. As you fly you get to look at ice capped peaks and frozen lakes. It is certainly a harsh landscape and something that makes you admire the people that can survive there.

We now find ourselves in the tourist trap of Cuzco. The city is actually quite nice, if a bit touristy. The prices here are really high. The prices to get to Macchu Picchu were ridiculous. We had heard that the
Street ParadeStreet ParadeStreet Parade

There is a parade here evry day. We picked a good time of the year for that.
trains book up pretty quickly and Jeff does not have much time left so our first mission in town was to get our train tickets. We went to the station and were lucky enough to get the last two tickets for Saturday. Jeff leaves on Sunday so if we had not gotten those tickets he would have missed Macchu Picchu. The tickets are so expensive though. Foreigners have to take the tourist train and are not allowed to take the cheaper local train. They have a cheaper backpacker train $76 (not that cheap) but they had no tickets available on that train until after Thursday at the minimum. We were stuck purchasing tickets on the vistadome (a glass enclosed train) that cost $113 each. On top of that I have been told that they try and charge $12 dollars for the bus up to Macchu Picchu from the train station and the the entrance costs almost $40. It seems this exploration will cost over $150. Damn thats expensive for one day. I much prefer to live on $30 or $40 a day.

Anyways now we are exploring the town. They had a big festival in the street here last
Another Market PhotoAnother Market PhotoAnother Market Photo

Herbs and spices
night. This is a good time to be in Peru. They are having festivals practically every day, getting ready for the National Independance Day on Sat and Sun. They also serve Guinea Pig here. I guess it is a local treat for Peru. I wanted try it yesterday, but they were sitting on the street all day. When I asked for one really hot, they told me they normally serve it cold. I am hoping to be able to get some in a restaurant that is hot. I am a pretty adveturesome eater, but I don't want to die and if it was cooked 5 or 10 hours ago and has been sitting on the street all day there is a good chance it might kill me or at least get me really sick. Hopefully though you will all soon get to see a picture of me eating one of those little rodents. I have heard they also serve alpaca here. That is another thing I am going to have to get my hands on. What is traveling if you don't fully emerese yourself in the cultural foods and customs (although Cousin Ronnie may disagree).

Thats about all for now. My next blog will be one of enlightment and spirituality. I mean, c'mon how could I not come back from Machhu Pichhu spiritually enlightened


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

My First Glimpse of the AndesMy First Glimpse of the Andes
My First Glimpse of the Andes

I know the pictures didn't come out great, but if you really want to know how beautiful it is come to Peru.
Bienvenidos a CuzcoBienvenidos a Cuzco
Bienvenidos a Cuzco

A view from our hostal
Need FirewoodNeed Firewood
Need Firewood

Certainly
Street ParadeStreet Parade
Street Parade

They seem to have a parade every day here.
Cuzco's Plaze de ArmasCuzco's Plaze de Armas
Cuzco's Plaze de Armas

The main plaza in town.


29th July 2007

Like a softball filled with nails...
Cousin Ronnie is of the FIRM opinion that if G-d meant us to eat the things you persist in stuffing into your mouth in the name of some sort of confused idea that traveling means you have GOT to try this dried pigs colon on a stick than G-d would have put a crap-on-a-stick restaurant right next door to Applebys. As I try to pass along in my usually gentle fashion, people eat that crap because they have too - you think there is ANYBODY alive who wouldn't trade a cold gerbil for a Pastrami on Rye? Anyway, doesn't it PISS YOU OFF that they charge different prices for locals? It happens in a lot of places, but doesn't ever make me feel anything but disdain. That is a LOT of money! Cousin Ronnie / Sebastian
29th July 2007

dvoretz@comcast.net
Brett...stop .....don't eat that....or anything else in that country! Save yourself. How do they serve pigs colon anyway? Now to cousin Ronnie...remember cousin Gail? Write or call her!!!!! Brett those pictures are absolutely beautiful. We loved looking at them. It ain't so pretty in NY but the food is really good here. We are leaving here on Wednesday morning. The train ride was so much fun. I can't wait to read more of your adventure. Be safe and have fun but stop eating that stuff!! Love Mom

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0787s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb