Machu Picchu


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Machu Picchu
July 29th 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to The Top of the WorldWelcome to The Top of the WorldWelcome to The Top of the World

our first good look at Machu Picchu
So we headed into Machu Picchu today. It was definitely a sight to behold. The view from where the city is located is just spectacular. I believe we were a little above 13,000 ft. I will admit that I think if it was not located where it is, it would not be such a huge tourist destination. I would like to start off by saying that I found it to be an amzing place, full of magnificant ruins and views. That being said, I was a bit dissapointed. First, there are so many people there it is hard to just relax and enjoy the air of mystery to place. There are so many other people talking and walking around you that it takes something away from the place. Another main drawback to visiting Machu Picchu is the price. It is really quite expensive. It costs a little over $150 for us. I guess I was also under the impression that it would be more like Angkor Wat and there would be a few different temples scattered around. It kind of is and kind of isn't. There were two other areas that I know of and one was closed because they only allow 400 visitors a day.

The town that Machu Picchu is located in is also so ridiculously over priced for everything. I guess when you add up all those little things it takes a bit of the grandour away from the place.

On the flip side, It is certainly an amazing place that had some of the best views I have ever seen. The structure to the buildings is also quite interesting. One can only wonder how they were able to build this place so long ago, situated in such a remote location. Some of the concepts used when building are quite ingenious. When you look at the gutters they made to bring the water where they desired or the steps they sometimes built right into the walls you realize the foresight that went into the building process.

In the food category we have new discovery today. I finally got to try alpace and I must say I quite enjoyed it. It tasted similar to steak. I am hoping to find somebody who will split some guinea pig with me tomorrow. It is a bit expensive and I don't want to pay that much money.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Who Wants AlpacaWho Wants Alpaca
Who Wants Alpaca

mmmm looks tasty
I doI do
I do

its actually really good
Machu PicchuMachu Picchu
Machu Picchu

our first good look at Machu Picchu
Machu Picchu 3Machu Picchu 3
Machu Picchu 3

exploring inside the ruins
ExploringExploring
Exploring

I went exploring, Jeff didn't want to come
The Next Peruvian OlympianThe Next Peruvian Olympian
The Next Peruvian Olympian

This kid chased us all the way down the mountain. He took little shortcuts through the woods and was standing at each turn waving goodbye
The RoadThe Road
The Road

The windy road to Machu Picchu
Jeff's Last Day in PeruJeff's Last Day in Peru
Jeff's Last Day in Peru

Time to load up on souvenirs


29th July 2007

wow
great pics that dog did look like a ugly statue. looks so intresting there. keep havin fun^^
30th July 2007

WTF? I thought you were in town!
Duh. I am so stupid I forgot you jokers were going to be in Peru this week. All I can say is im glad its you and not me. As beautiful as it looks i can read between the lines. Luckily Jeff has his very own tour guide. I swear everyone else in the world is hospitable. Oh well, you'll have your turn in Thailand soon. Ha. Give me a buzz when you get back. P.S. I even called lisa thinking she had stabbed you in your sleep. Have fun and you know I would eat that crap with you bro!!! Safe travels and catch you on the flip side.
30th July 2007

That kid ain't wavin at ya!
Those cute little kids that go sliding through the jungle so they can wave at you on the way down? They want you to give them money...gee, there's a surprise. I had NO idea the place became that expensive! Well, now you've seen it, and it is amazing. You mean even the gerbils - or guinea pigs - are expensive? Lot cheaper just to eat at Popeye Chicken. And by the way, could you tell your lovely MOM that I have called and written and sent smoke signals but she is apparently out of touch on some sort of train? Her SISTER writes to me though - and even said she would put that wriggly thing on my hook. I can't tell you how cool it is to follow your adventures...and one more thing? Alpaca is to be WORN, not EATEN. Cousin Ronnie formerly known as Sebastian.
30th July 2007

don't eat that!!!!!
I can't believe what you are eating and I too think that your wear what you just ate!!!!!! Is there anything you won't eat? You look like you are having another great adventure....Now to Sebastian...I have written to you two times before I left for NY! Will see you sometime..When? I love you both. Be safe Brett and be careful of what you put in your mouth,=.hhahahhahhahah
30th July 2007

so beautiful
I just looked at the slide show and the pictures are breathtaking. I was in awe! What a wonderful site and yes I can't imagine how they built that. Love mom
30th July 2007

Home!!!
So I get to the airport in Cuzco around 5am, no one was there except a few tourists sleeping on their sacks outside the airport. I was allowed to check in around 530 and realized my nierghbors were on the same flight AGAIN to Lima. I got in around 8am and decided to just wait it out at the Lima airport until my next flight to Ft. Lauderdale. I got Harry Potter and read about half. THEN my flight home got delayed till 1am. I was so pissed. I finally got on and had the most uncomfortable flight ever but I'm home. Be safe bro! That was fun!

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb