Dispatches; Fanny the Pharmacist


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
January 13th 2011
Published: January 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Just through Santa Clara Arch is the pharmacy where I get my gear. In fact I'm so good a customer now that I've been added to their mailing list and may even be invited to the xmas party. Anyway, as you know I've been laid up, suffering all sorts of awfullness I need not go into detail about. But it's been a bad one, I've not eaten a proper meal since Sunday last and have been managing on bananas, water, and electrolyte drinks by the gallon. I've not really been able to go explore the town much further than the main squares and avenues, which is a real pity because it's a lovely place.
Today I went back to the pharmacy and gave the girl, named Fanny according to her tag, the lowdown concerning the awfullness. She said she knew what was up and gave me Ciproflaxin, so we'll see how they go.

We've heard enough about that though, so I'll tell you something else instead; the folk here are lovely. The old ladies I buy my bananas from in the San Pedro Market remind me of my Nana. They're all wrinkly and fat and smiley, and they always throw in a few extra. I did remember to take the camera with me today so I got off a few snaps, some in the market and some around town. I'll upload them when i get round to it.

For such a small enough town there sure are enough massive churches and cathedrals. Now, I could do the usual and start on at how where you find massive poverty you'll find massive churches, but I won't. I'll just say that they're beautiful. I went and sat in one last night and the architecture was fascinating. It was quiet and peaceful too, which I put down to the late hour, but even so. The art and statues are of the dramtic type with Christ's fingers contorted in obvious agony around the huge iron nails pinning him to the crucifix, and the Blessed Virgin almost pulling her hair out in grief at his feet. Which are gushin' blood.
So as I don't really believe in all that anymore, because it's unfair and doesn't make sense to me, and I even gave the Catholic church my gun and badge back, I can look at this stuff the same way you look at any other type of artwork. Do you like it? Do you have any clue what the artist is trying to say?
I know what the artist is trying to say with these images, but I don't mind. I think it's beautiful work. Not what it represents or who it's supposed to be for, but just for what it is.

I think this evening I'll have to bite the bullet and go get something decent to eat. I'm all banana'd out to be honest, and wouldn't mind eating some type of animal again. I'll start on something small though, maybe a guinea pig, which can be bought on sticks here as a nutricious snack. Then i'll move on up to a chicken i suppose. Oh I hope these tablets work, I'm fair tired of it at this point. All you religious heads out there can say a little prayer for me, how about that!

Advertisement



14th January 2011

This little piggy went to market...
I should probably feel sorry for you Ken, or Jaysus even, but being a previous guardian of guinea pigs, it's them that hold my pity today. Hope the tablets work head, get well soon.

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb