Dispatches; Man Down


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
January 11th 2011
Published: January 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Yes, the inevitable has happened. Arriving about midway through the 22 hour bus ride from Lima to Cusco the devil came calling. Started twisting my intestines into smaller, more compact sausage shapes than waht the original designers had in mind. I had a case of the old Bombay Two-step. But I made it, just.

At the bus station in Cusco, which the bus got to via an indeterminate route through swamped streets and curving bumpy roads, the race was on to grab the bags then find a taxi who isn't going to try to pull a fast one. Thing is, I had an ace up my sleave on that note. If he tried the long route I'd soil his automobile. How dya like them apples?
Elvis, the taxi driver was ok though. Although he wasn't familiar with the hotel he said he'd find it and stuck with the original fare agreed. The Hotel Rey Antares Mystic is situated beside the old train station and doesn't look like much from the outside, but inside it's nice enough. The girl at the desk did the paperwork and made me a mug of Coca tea, my first one on this trip, and not the last. It helps with the altitude by some means, and is also more of a cultural drink for the Andean Peruvians, but it's not too bad with a spoonful of sugar.

So, I'm laid up in the hotel room. I can't risk going outside just yet as it wouldn't do to get caught short in a strange town with no idea of where a decent jacks is. You may add to my previous list of forgotten vital items Immodium. It would be nice to able to fart without fear.

Advertisement



12th January 2011

How's the bowels
Hey Ken, Enjoying the blog keep it up. Sorry to hear you picked up a dose of the runs. Raw fish & salad it is Peru afterall, if it ain't fried and all the rest.

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1006.2kb