First contact......and Ventanilla


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Callao
January 26th 2010
Published: February 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hola,

Things have progressed enormously since my last entry. I accidentally picked up a coverless book called Sosha which is pretty good; I like many others will put my name on the front and place it in my next hostel when I finish it.

So to begin: I´m sat here and it’s a Tuesday night. It’s been a long day and the last entry was made over a week ago. How quickly the days seem to pass. Thursday and Friday passed quietly by as did the weekend. In England I would have been out for a few drinks as ever. So it’s nice to be taking it easy. On Saturday we ventured to Lima and went to a Museum it was alright at first then very repetitive so I quickly moved through it, I apologized to the guide at the end. The journey was shambolic to say the least, it’s mostly off road in a Combi with mad men driving through dust and sand in clapped out old Toyotas…….nothing like Ingleterra to say the least. Anyway after meandering around by myself for a bit we proceeded to the hostel and had a few bevs that night. It was a good laugh as Lima is a good city to go out. We decided to go out in Barranco which is quite Peruvian. I woke up fine, Sunday was a really really hot day, we walked around for a bit then headed back to the project, it was nice to let off a bit of steam and get away from all the intensity of it to be honest, still didn’t get a single room to myself though……dam….

Monday was a great day, really bonded with the kids; start off by doing initial fitness sessions which is the only thing I can complete competently in football. Then it’s on to cone and skill work before a 10 mins each half match.

I received an email back from the British Embassy asking me to go down this Friday (29th). I hope I can get some good opportunities from this, we´ll see I suppose. Pervious to this entry I emailed them asking what potential opportunities young adults from here get to go to university and if I could do any work for them while I’m here. Sadly I have to get up at 5.30 to get there by 9.30 though……..

Asta


Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0199s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb