Trekking in the Andes


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ayacucho
October 30th 2005
Published: October 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Intrepid TrekkersIntrepid TrekkersIntrepid Trekkers

From left to right: Nigel, Wendy, Vicki, Caroline, Alison, Sila and Eileen. I was taking the photo.
Sunday 30 October

Hi Folks, hope that you all had a nice relaxing weekend. Mine has been great so far.

After updating my diary last night, I headed home to (yes - you geussed it!!) a freeing cold shower!! Guess I´d had my excitment for the weekend by moving to the bottom bunk, and a hot shower was just too much to hope for!!

Slept like a log in my bottom bunk which was great. We headed out at 9am for our hike in the hills. Nigel and Alison (two of the volunteers) are great walkers and have really explored the Andes around Ayacucho. A crowd of 8 of us in total headed off for the trek. Was an absolutely scorching day and suncream was definitely needed. Think I´m developing a bit of a ´farmers´ tan (arms neck and face as nothing else is ever exposed outside!!). Still struggling with the altitude when I go walking. Around Ayacucho (10,000 - 10,500 feet) it´s mainly breathlessness I feel. Give myself a hard time as this kind of thing at home would be no problem!! When I get back down to sea level I should be super fit with all
Building overrun by cactiiBuilding overrun by cactiiBuilding overrun by cactii

The cactoii were everywhere!!
those extra red blood cells in my system!! I should be able to combat it by breathing from my diaphragm (have developed this by playing my flute and sax), but haven´t been successful as yet!!

Attached are some of the photos I took on the walk. The coutryside and the scenery were just incredible!! We spotted a typical Peruvian lady in the hills with a flock of sheep, and also came across an old building (not quite sure what it was) which has been totally overrun by cactii!! Also spotted a bird on the wall of the house. No idea what it was as it was much larger than anything I´ve seen at home.

Also attached is a photo of a typical Andean white flower. Reminds me of Edelweiss, but I think it has fewer petals (the experts among you will be able to confirm!!).

We also came across some handsome bulls on our trek (Billy and Paul the attached photo is just for you!!). Fortunately as I wasn´t lost, I didn´t have my photo taken showing the bull the map and asking for directions. This is a joke which relates to our summer holiday in Italy.
Andean BirdAndean BirdAndean Bird

No idea what it is - all suggestions welcome!
I´ll say no more.........unless anyone specifically asks!!

It was so peaceful up there in contrast to the busyiness of Ayacucho. It was nice to be outdoors and have some space and time to yourself to clear your head and relax!! I cannot describe the Andes well enough to help you imagine what they look like, and I feel that the photos I´ve taken just don´t do the scenery justice!! It´s incredible!!

We arrived back from our trek at 1.30pm. By this time I was ravenous and ready for lunch. Fortunately, the cook had saved some food for us which was great. Then had a (lukewarm - it´s improving!) shower and headed into town.

I was on a mission to purchase 8 small plastic pumpkins for WW tomorrow. Had bought lots of things to put inside yesterday as a treat for the kids (chocolate raisins and relatively healthy sweets with plenty of vitamins). Was successful with my purchase, but the girl in the shop didn´t have any bags. I had to walk home (a good 20 - 30 min walk) with them strung together in my hands. I got some really strange looks and comments (fortunately I couldn´t
Andean FlowerAndean FlowerAndean Flower

Unusual in that it hardly has a stem. Reminded me of Eidelweiss.
understand most of the cheekier ones!!) and some of the local kids were even asking if I was selling them - how´s that for an alternative career??!! Have cardboard and paint for the kids to make masks, and orange and black paper for them to make paper chains to decorate the WW room. Should be fun - will update you re how it goes tomorrow.

Was full of good intentions re finding the methodist Church and going to the evening service. They fell by the wayside, as I got back to base, decided to read for a bit and promptly fell asleep for 3 hours!! Must have been all the fresh air this morning as I haven´t had any late nights!!

Heading home now to prepare for WW tomorrow.

Hope all is well with all of you.

Take care!!

Lesley x


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Shepherdess in the AndesShepherdess in the Andes
Shepherdess in the Andes

A local lady with her sheep
Mooooo!!Mooooo!!
Mooooo!!

Just for you Billy and Paul!
View from the topView from the top
View from the top

Again - the camera doesn´t do it justice!!


2nd November 2005

FINALLY CRACKED IT I HOPE
LOVING ALL THE INFO AND THE PICTURES. DONT EVER SAY TO ME YOU CANT DO CRAFT THINGS. HA VE IT ON PRINT KIDDO. LOVE AND MISS YOU EVERY DAY. TAKE CARE. MUM THE FEATHERY THINGS AND YOUR POXY CATS
2nd November 2005

Cool Bull
cool bull but why does it only have one ear?
2nd November 2005

italian holiday
We were not lost. The bull asked us for directions!

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0937s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb