Last Day in Ayacucho


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ayacucho
September 2nd 2005
Published: September 2nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

The New BabyThe New BabyThe New Baby

This is the baby that I helped deliver two days ago. They came into the clinic for a check up.
Today is my last full day in Ayacucho. This morning at the clinic I was put to work taking patient vitals, giving vaccinations and medications, the usual. I really have enjoyed this part of my volunteer work. The people really seem to appreciate that a Gringa is helping them. I get lots of hugs everyday from my patients. Just before noon the girl who had the baby two days ago came in with the new baby for their two day check up. It was nice to see her. She looks like she is recovering well and the baby is healthy. She let me hold the wee one ageing and agreed to a picture. What I’ve noticed is the follow up is rather good. I have developed relationships with several of the patients who are frequent flyer, just like at home. I also got to do a check up and cleaning on the kid who cut his lip up really bad a few days ago. It’s healing Ok. He is really ashamed of his face and the cut so he hides it with his close. I did my best in my broken Spanglish to explain to him how to prevent infection. Really
Me and NancyMe and NancyMe and Nancy

Nancy is a student Techincal Nurse. She only has a few months let of her practical training.
stressed that his hand need to be clean and not to touch it with hands or close. Hope it does not scard too bad.

Yesterday afternoon Rebecca and I went to the cultural museum in town. It was worth the two Sol (approximately 66 cents). They had pottery from all the different civilizations in Peru and a time line that compared Peru history to Europe. I can’t wait to see the big museums in Lima. This afternoon we are going to hike to the cross on the hill about the city, about 10,200 ft. This evening will be spent packing and saying good by. So the next time I write will be from Cosco, Land of the Inka!

Ciao, Mchelle



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

holding small childholding small child
holding small child

The were tring to weight this little ones sister, who was throwing a temper tantrum....... this one is a very good baby.
museummuseum
museum

Wari Mummie


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0675s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb