Cusco Bound!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
September 3rd 2005
Published: September 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

My last evening in Ayacucho was one of my best…… doesn’t always go that way. A big group of us went for the hike up the hill to the cross. It was a great work out and my ass is felling it now. A few of us went out for a proper Pisco Sour after dinner, I can’t believe it took me three weeks to try a Pisco they are damn good.

Saturday morning I got up at the crack and headed to the airport. Off to Cusco. I was kind of wondering if I really wanted to go to Cusco by myself, but the plane ride answered that one for me. Just the sight of the mountains was enough to confirm that I wanted to be here. I so want to come back to climb one of those monsters. The landing into Cusco was an experience in it’s self. It was nothing like flying a Dash-8 into Sun Valley, Idaho or Butte, Montana. Try being on an Air Bus 320 and wondering if the wing span was going to fit in the valley that they shot the approach in! So far Cusco is wonderful. Paved roads, no dust, clean bathrooms and less strange smells!

Upon arrival I check in to my hostel. This place is amazing. It is of old Spanish Colonial architecture and beautiful. They said they had hot water and they were not kidding and fabulous water pressure. After I settled in I headed into town to find the Inka Museum and some sort of Pre-Columbian Art Museum. They were really nice compared to the museum in Ayacucho, can’t wait to see the one in Lima. I met two guys in the museums Ed, from LA and Dave, from England. They met each other while on a jungle trek and have been hanging out since. Dave actually has been living down her with his girlfriend; they met down here a year ago. We are going to meet up for dinner in a bit.

So far Cusco is great and a hell of a lot more expensive then Ayacucho!

Ciao- Machelle



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0263s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb