Day in the Life


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ayacucho
August 24th 2005
Published: August 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Greetings! It was more of the same yesterday (the 23rd of August) at the health clinic, vitals, vaccinations and injections. We did get two teenaged boys in who had blown something up with gasoline and had impact wounds on their bodies. One boy is very lucky, he took the brunt of the impact on the side of his neck and it scattered up the side of his face and head. The head nurse for the day was not the usual one, but she still let me help clean the boy’s wounds up. He kept thanking us and calling us momacita (that is spelled wrong, but phonetically correct.) I guess that is a compliment to be referenced as the mother. The other boy’s wounds were not nearly as serious.

Today I went to the Nazarene Health Clinic in a different part of town. This clinic is not nearly as nice as Santa Elena. I didn’t get to do much “hands on”, just lots of observing. Rebecca (who volunteers there) and I spent some time in the OB/GYN area. We observed a prenatal and a postpartum appointment, but the exciting part was when a lady we was having contractions come in. The
Me and Laurie Me and Laurie Me and Laurie

We are sitting in the Doctors Office
Obstetrician took us with her to attend to the lady. She was only dilated to 2 cm so the Obstetrician sent her away and told her to come back at 2pm. It was kind of strange……. But I guess it works for them.

This afternoon we have a guest speaker on the history of Ayacucho and the Shining Path. I saw Poncho last night and he told us that Muppet, the puppy, died. His family gave her a nice burial. Very sad, but it is for the best. Tomorrow morning I will be back at Santa Elena and in the afternoon I am going to go to the old folks home.

Ciao, Machelle



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

TopicoTopico
Topico

They use paper cones to keep the dust out of the solutions that they use.
TopicoTopico
Topico

The Topico room
Doctor ArcardioDoctor Arcardio
Doctor Arcardio

Doctor sitting at his desk.
Nazerina Health ClinicNazerina Health Clinic
Nazerina Health Clinic

This is one of the other clinic that I visited
Nazerina Health ClinicNazerina Health Clinic
Nazerina Health Clinic

Making cotton balls at Nazerina


24th August 2005

current events
When I heard of the plane crash in Peru I did not figure that you had heard about it. It reminded me when I was living in Papuaq New Guinea and a volcano destroyed the most beautiful city in the country. I heard about it from friends in the USA. We got video from Australia about the destruction. AH well

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb