Condor watching in the Colca Canyon


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa
October 4th 2004
Published: October 4th 2004
Edit Blog Post

At the moment I'm in a Colonial city in the south of Peru called Arequipa, it's a beautiful city with heaps of volcanoes around it to climb and also the second deepest canyon in the world that you can hike down and back up if you're keen, but since I was still on the rebound from the Inca Trail I opted for the lazy 2day tour where you end up up at a Condor sanctury for a bit of bird watching - and it was great. Pretty strange though, we turned up at about 7:30am and saw nothing untill like 8:10 when they all came out to stretch their wings for about 20mins before flying away to look for food. They're sooo big and cool, my visit has just reconfirmed that i still want to be an eagle when I grow up... one day.
It's hot here too for everyone who's freezing there butts off back home - I got very sunburnt today when I fell asleep sunbathing on the terrace at our hostal. It's going to be a long busride up the coast tonight I know it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Terrace partyTerrace party
Terrace party

It was Sam's Birthday and these two lovely French girls bought him the biggest chocolate cake they could find. So we ate as much as we could before going out and trying to dance with a full belly - and found out that that doesn't work.
Canyon 3Canyon 3
Canyon 3

Aparantly this Canyon is deeper the the Grand Canyon in the States but I don't know, I reckon I could jump into that river from here
more Condorsmore Condors
more Condors

These things can grow to up to 5m in wing span if they're good at finding dead animals to eat. Unlike eagles, condors can't really kill animals because their claws are too hopeless, so they just have to hunt around for road-kill and other dead animals.


Tot: 0.473s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 28; qc: 129; dbt: 0.1456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb