In the mountains


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa
February 8th 2007
Published: February 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

As always uploading pics is kinda a pain in the but, especially when you can't read the directions because they're all in spanish. I'll work it out.
I arrived in Arequipa this morning and I made the mistake of riding coach on the bus. It was the worst, most uncomfortable bus ride I've even taken. However the ten hour ride only cost me fifty soles so I really don't have mych to compain about. I spent most of the day sleeping, making up for last night.
Arequipa is nestled in the mountains against the El Misti volcano. I'm actually not sure if the volcano is still active or not, but from what I can see it isn't. The city itself is very old with many monasteries and churches that I'm sure I'll visit in the days to come. The weather is noticebly cooler here and I find myself kind of missing the hot sun. I spent my afternoon drinking hot chocolate in a cafe overlooking the plasa des armas and it was great. Besdies the cafes they are about a million little bakeries and patisserie shops. I havn't sampled anything yet but I'm very sure it won't take me long to get there. I also did some major shopping which, I will admit, I've picked up the habit.
Anyways more news in days to come. Things are very well and I can't wait to tour the surrounding canyons and such. Cheers.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

River ArequipaRiver Arequipa
River Arequipa

(I´m sure it´s called something else but I don´t know the name)


Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 15; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb