Colca Canyon Trek


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa » Colca Canyon
February 12th 2007
Published: February 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

What an eventful last few days! I sighned myself up for a two day trek through the Colca Canyon of condors and I´m so happy that I did. Saturday I left my hostal early in the AM and had a long bus ride through the mountains to a little village called Chivay (or something like that). We then went on a 3km hike to the natural hot springs that were in the area. The ´hot´ springs weren´t actually that hot so I opted not to go in. Instead of waiting around for everyone to finish their soak, myself and another girl walked back to the village. Unfortunatly the sky opend up in a downpour and we got drenched.
After drying out for an hour or two we went for dinner and were surprised with live entertainment. The band was actually very good.
Consisteing of all men, they sang and played in traditional peruvian style. There were also two dancers, one male and one female that had contumes to match just about every song. Halfway through the night they had some audience participation. Lucky me, I was pulled from the crowd, dressed in an embroidered skirt and hat and made to dance the Chivay village dance that they apparently had invented. The dance was crude. It also envoled a rope wip that they each took turns on each other with. When it was my turn to perform this particular stunt I was surprised at how well the thick skirt softened the blow. At one point the guy picked my up over his shoulders and twirled me around. It may have been more fun if he was more handsom, and if I hadn´t almost upchucked my dinner. It was all in good fun but I was really glad when it was over. I got a free Pisco Sour out of it so I can´t complain too loudly.
The next day was better. We had another long drive up to the canyon but the view was well worth it. I even saw condors! Massive brids that sore effortlessly, hardly flapping their wings at all. Apparently we were rather lucky to see them because they only fly when the weather is good. All in all, it was the best tour that I´ve been on so far.
Today I finally saw some of Arequipa´s churches. One particular monastery was huge and apparently still has nuns living and worshipping there today. I don´t think I could commit to that kind of life behind walls, but it sure was a cool place to see.
Tomorrow I´m finally off to Cuzco and am super excited. Rather than another ten hour bus ride I bit the bullet and paid the extra money to fly. Can´t wait!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Casa La RenaCasa La Rena
Casa La Rena

My hostal in Arequipa


15th February 2007

Thinking of you
Hey Baby, hope all is well and you are fine. Your journey looks interesting. Hope you are having fun. We are praying for you. Love, Scott and Stella

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb