Arequipa- Colca Canyon


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa » Colca Canyon
July 6th 2008
Published: July 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We left Arequipa and took a bus to Calca Canyon. We travelled to altitude levels reaching 4000 ft above sea level, so on the way we stopped to get some coca leaves and coca sweets which help with altitude sickness. They suggested we put the leaves in our mouths and chew on them but they are really bitter and make your mouth numb so I didnt do that for that long! Also on the journey we stopped for coca tea (this is hot water with coca leaves in) this was much better and tasted a bit like green tea.

We were expecting the temp to reach -5 in the evening so both me and Helen bopught hats and socks made of alpaca wool to keep us warm.

At the highest point of our journey, I felt some of the effects of the altitude, it made me feel tired, dizzy and have headaches but luckily that wore off throughout the day!

In the afternoon when we reached the place we were staying we went for a walk up a nearby mountain that reached about 4000 ft above sea level. It was a real struggle to get up the mountain. I didnt realise how much the altitude could effect you. I could hear my heart pumping in my head, not good! Both me and Helen were fidning it hard but we made it to the top and didnt give up!

The place we stayed was really lovely it had lamas wondering around outside and had a log fire in the main public area.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb