Fun in the Andes


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa » Arequipa
September 27th 2006
Published: October 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello,
Just when you all thought I´de forgotten you I back with another thrilling entry!!!
Well I made it to Cusco, I took an uneventful bus ride (over 30 hours) to Lima from there I cheated and flew to Cusco. I just could face another 30 hour bus journey. I spent a day and night in Lima looking for paddington bear...unfortunatly no bears to be found! But I did take an educational trip to the national museum and an equally educational trip to the local bar and club for you guessed it more salsa. I had a genius plan of going out all night before my 6 oclock flight to cusco instead of paying a whole 5 pounds for a night in a hostel (Im in real backpacker mode now). Not such a good idea when your waiting bleary eyed for a flight which gets delayed then sleep through the whole flight to be woken by "wasn´t those views amazing"!

Cusco was ok... a little too toursity for me, I guess I cant complain being a tourist myself. But I got a little sick of people asking me to eat in thier resturants or if i wanted to watch free movies or a massage. One night I went out (yep salsaring!) and I nearly got my arms ripped off by one woman wanting me to go in her bar versus a guy who wanted me in his bar luckly a south african girl stepped in and rescued me from the human tug of war!!! I saw some amazing inca ruins there which Ill try and put some picture up to bore you all. I also went round the cathedral (see Im cultured as well). The cathedral was amazing a strange mix of catholosim and inca religion. The highlight being a representation of the last supper with a cuy (guinnea pig - thier special dish) as the feast. I didnt know jesus liked to feast upon guinea pig and corn but you learn something new everyday.

From Cusco I went on the Inca trail, 49.5km over 4 days...ok it dosent sound that much but at altitude of up to 4200 it was a challange. Luckly I didnt find it as hard as I thought i would and infact would go so far as to say I really enjoyed it. The second day was the hardest, 3 hours to climb 1200
Macchu PicchuMacchu PicchuMacchu Picchu

Breath-taking after walking for 3 days and getting up at 4am...we walked through the sun gate on the mountain as the sun was rising and was greeted with this sight!!!
meters up to the heighest point...aptly named dead womans pass. The 3rd day was so beautiful passing high rainforests, inca ruins and finishing in a campsite with showers and beer...bliss. The food was amazing and when ever we finished a particulary difficult walk the porters would be ready at camp with cold drinks and reassuring cheers. Maccu piccu itself was stunning and so well preserved, I think we were all a bit too exaughted to really apreciate it but the acomplishment of completing the inca trail was so worth the exaughtion. I stupidly tried to climb the mountain behind maccu piccu. This mountain was very steep and had a very long drop if one foot was missplaced, aparently quiet a few people have fallen off. I kind of forgot how scared of heights I am and started off storming up the montain gradually getting slower and slower until tears whelled up in my eyes (i really should have turned back then). I got over half way and broke down in hysterics sat in the dust....very embarrsing. A lovely spanish couple helped me down, I dont think they were too sure what had happened because i was incapble of speaking english let alone spanish!!! Now Im safely back to earth and feel a little silly but I dont plan on climbing any crazy mountains in the near future!!!

When I came back from maccu piccu I took one of the massage toting ladies up on the offer. It was a little strange as she sang along to Brian Adams, of all singers to chose from! However, she did a wonderful job on my muscles so much so I decided to endure a 3 day trek in the cola canon 2 days later. The cola canon is deeper than the grand canon but not as steep. Its so beautiful very rural idilic almost taken out of a fairy tale book only with condors (beautiful vultures). The farms were surrounded by little dry stone walls, they reminded me of the yorkshire dales only instead of farmers driving tractors they were driving ox and carts. After treking in the canon we relaxed in the natural hot springs so life isnt all hard work here 😊

I hope you havent forgotten me! I want to hear about life back home so keep those emails coming.

Love Joanna
x


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Cola CanonCola Canon
Cola Canon

Ok I know wild cacti dont grow in the yorkshire dales.
Cola CanonCola Canon
Cola Canon

This picture reminds me of Greece!


2nd October 2006

Sounds like you have packed a lot in so far! Climbing sounds scary, I'm sure I would have joined you in a hysterical bawl trying to climb up a mountain so don't feel too bad!! Great to hear all that you are up to. I'm not really jealous (honest). Keep up the good work with the salsa. I'm afraid that you'll be so good by the time you get back you won't want to dance with me though! Take Care Paulxx
12th October 2006

Hey Joanna: Looks like you are havning fun!....... bday suprise in the mail.....miss you... next trip is to Canada to see me.... deal...nice!
19th October 2006

News from the Great Britain
England is the came old place we're all still here plodding along, not up any mountains like you but almost! The lastest craze to hit this side of the world is the Hoef ie David Hasselhoef. Not quite of the Baywatch kind but even sleezier, he's all singing and all dancing, and yes he still has all the hair!! I don't think anybody understands why but that's how it is. I remember your sister had a thing for him so at least one person is happy!!! I only hope it doesn't last. Catch you later x

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb