Last day in Cusco & visit to Arequipa


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa » Arequipa
June 9th 2012
Published: June 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Cusco 1 of 5Cusco 1 of 5Cusco 1 of 5

religious ceremony in town square
Thursday 7th June

Last day in Cusco...following the early rises from the previous days, I thought I was going to get a long lie in...no chance! I was up at 6am, so decided to tackle the packing ahead of my departure to Arequipa later this evening. So rather than putting my dirty clothes to a laundry, I have instead re-packed everything so that the clean clothers are easier to access...I am sure my new washing machine back home can cope with the Peruvian dust no problem.

Today is an unexpected surprise, there is a local Christian festival. So I arrived in the town square at 9:30am and got a prime spot to watch the parade and listen to the sermon and beautiful signing (what a turn for the books considering my lack of christian faith other than celebrating Greek easter that is....or maybe it is all my dad's praying for me that is turning me to religion!). I did not fully realise this was going to be a full day event, so after 3 hours my back side decided enough is enough and I had to go for a walk. There were lots of food stalls and rather drunk Peruvians and their families roaming around.

I then did the sensible thing and booked my accommodation in Arequipa for the next 4 days. This time I have opted for a hostel that has kitchen facilities....since I would like to do some cooking (I know I even surprised myself with this decision!).

As my last super in Cusco I decided to go for Italian, since the shop had a prime location, so you could see the crowds form 3 different directions....plus the food was nice and i knew safe in light of my overnight bus journey.

Final walk round the main square and then off to get the Cruz del sur bus to Arequipa (how am i going to cope with Stagecoach when I get back?) .

GCC steps - 12,272



Friday 8th June

Arrived in Arequipa abit earlier than I have first anticipated (I thought I was due to arrive at 11:30am but it was 5:30am instead). Got a taxi to the hostal and thankfully they had a bed I could use straight away...since I was so tired!!! Slept until midday and then ventured into the main part of town.

First impressions of this place are great! Less touristy and the nicest town square I have come across in my travels in Peru.

After walking round the main square I ventured abit further afield and found the local BIG market...it is huge...selling everything from fresh produce (yes now I have seen with my own eyes the amount of different potatoe varieties and that is probably just the tip of the iceberg) to meat, fish, linen, household goods etc all under one roof...(mum & dad this makes the Thessaloniki market look tiny in comparison!).

Then I eventually made my way back to the main square and since it was a lovely late afternoon I decided to spend some time people watching....and then I met another Peruvian gentlemen....I must have a sign on my head that says "female travelling alone, can't speak Spannish, sit next to her and make sure she uses her phrase book!!!!!"...an hour later I have his name, phone number and email....my pulling technique never seases to amaze me and I am not even remotely trying. Once he started asking me to go for a drink I decided it was time for a sharp exit and returned to the hostel.

It turns out it is the birthday of one of the staff here, so there are plans for a big party tomorrow....obviously a happening place to be! Glad I have nothing major planned over the next few days other than some sightseeing...I have opted to give the canyon trekking expedition a miss since all my trekking gear is dirty (I know a very flimsy excuse by all means...).

GCC steps - 18,832



Saturday 9th June

A chilled out day, visited the old part of town...some fantastic views of El Misti mountain (plus a couple of other mountain ranges...names of which elude me)! I had a brilliant lunch overlooking Arequipa...finally tasted Alpaca, it is a cross between beef & pork and it was cooked to perfection! I also could not resist their pudding....well it was about time I had some birthday cake!!! My vocabularly is increasing daily however my confidence in using Spannish is still not there....so I am using the phrase book, hand gestures & facial expressions to get my point across which obviously makes me rather entertaining to my hosts who are constantly laughing when I am attempting to talk to them, or I am obviously saying something very funny even I am not aware of!!!

Walking round Arequipa, it is hard to believe there is an international country club (or complex more like it) with multiple tennis courts....and then a few streets away there are shanty type houses...such a contrast.

Then obviously I did what any westerner would do, headed to the shops....for some much needed retail therapy...it was a perfect day for it, since all the shops in the mall had a 30% sale on ... so a total bargain....now i just need to fit everything in the backpack, I am sure I can trade off some dirty washing for the new clothes !!!!!!

Then back to the hostel for the BIG party...having drinks with a bunch of people I don't know, it is such a sureal experience....the measures are triples back home! Tomorrow is going to be such a quiet day....

GCC steps - 16,471



Sunday 10th June

Happy birthday Dad!

Last night was so much fun, I have decided to stick around for a couple more days and give Puno a miss. The bus timetable is not ideal
Arequipa square 1 of 4Arequipa square 1 of 4Arequipa square 1 of 4

my favourite Plaza de Armas in Peru
for travel to Puno and then on to Cusco, so I might as well chill out here with my new buddies!!!

Not feeling too bad today, considering we were doing tecquila shots (not my favourite) and after the first drink the barman was so drunk he could not remember the drink prices so everything was FREE and the drinks were even stronger (at times I thought he forgot to include any mixer...)...now that is what I call a CHEAP NIGHT OUT!!!!! I am glad to say no photos were taken last night, when I was sporting the Braveheart blue face look to contrast with the 2 English guys and even more glad that the face paint did wash off ok.

Another gloriously sunny day, so headed off to explore another part of the city....there is definitely enough here to keep me occupied until Thursday when I will head back to Cusco for my flight home!

I have been persuaded to give Pisco Sour another go...so I am off to the bar...final update in a few days time...until then take care :-)

GCC steps - 16,933


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Alpaca Alpaca
Alpaca

cross between beef & pork - cooked to perfection!
belated birthday cake!belated birthday cake!
belated birthday cake!

I have to admit even I could not finish this, it was delicious despite the 1000 calories per mouthful!
malibu anyone?malibu anyone?
malibu anyone?

now a meal with out a drink is a waste!
Ice creamIce cream
Ice cream

Peruvian's love their ice cream, i have not been persuaded to have any yet....
cakes 1 of 2cakes 1 of 2
cakes 1 of 2

peruvian's love their cakes just as much as ice cream - Deirdre some inspiration for your next tea patry?


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb