Arequipa again


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa » Arequipa
November 23rd 2010
Published: November 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I just realised how behind my blog is. This is no reflection on how busy I have been however, rather the age old tale of 'if you want something done, give it to someone busy', and I've not been busy so I've been putting it off and off as it seems so long ago.

I'll keep it brief nonetheless.

I made a speedy return to Peru after I lost my card on my final day in Tarija and realised I needed to get back across the border to access my money in Peru (BCP bank, I hate you). 19 hour bus to La Paz and returned to faithful Loki for Zoe's last night, and another guy, and no-one remembering anything that happened except my toe nail got lost in the process haha. It was a good night and a good farewell to Bolivia. Bussed back to Arequipa,via Puno again (another bane of contention, why a city that gets so much through-flow is so desperately poor and rubbish is beyond me) and caught up with more Loki La Paz friends.

This time I had some more time so I booked in for the Colca Trek with a girl I met on the bus there with a Swiss company who are the first agency I would recommend in South America. The guide was great, knowledgeable, kept at the back and always kept track of where we were. The trek was great. Amazing. The first day we descended into the canyon (after not seeing anything except hundreds of tourists at the Condor Cross) and rested at an amazing spot that was like a secret getaway and we stayed in rooms with walls, and there was even a shower with hot water!

The second day was a short amble with a stop at a museum to get to paradise. Literal paradise. In the middle of the brown, dry, dusty canyon is an oasis, and it's like a five star resort. The comparison between landscapes took my breath away. We spent the day in the freezing cold pool and sunbathing. Paradise. In the middle of a canyon. Who'd have thought it.

The third day was the climb back out of the canyon. Thankfully the clouds covered the Sun as it rose at 6am and the climb was fairly easy. A steady slow ascent. Me, going as usual, the speed of a turtle but consistent. Still made it in 3 hours, an hour faster than the average 4. The others made it in 2.

A great trek. A great company. Definitely worth doing even without condors.

The rest of Arequipa was spent eating as always and I grabbed a flight to get back to Lima in time to meet up with my mum before she jetted off to another country for business.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb