In Lima! At the airport waiting overnight for flight to Iquitos


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Amazonas
October 10th 2013
Published: October 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Well, well, well, it's so wonderful so far!

6 hour flight from Dallas to Lima in a window seat with NO ONE IN THE MIDDLE SEAT, only wish I could've slept, she says as she is still standing at 4:30 am waiting fOr a 8am flight. My seat mate was a delightul woman, Annalee. Shegrew up in Lima and now lives in the DC area. Delightful folks in the airport, evennet three guys from Grand Junction and Carbondale. They each have a kayak to run rivers in the sacred vally.. Thing is, the counter people at Star Peru don't think they will fit on the plane!

The airport cop on the beat where I have been hanging out since I arrived at midnight is keeping an eye out for me and being super helpful.

Twice I have successfully ordered beverages in Spanish. Asked for directions and held a stilted conversation with my seat mate before she revealed her flawless English! Feeling good in this transition to Peru. Next stop Iquitos. That will be the first real test of my moxie!

Hoping Claire will be at the airport as we arranged. If not I have a drivers phone number that isrecommended by a good friend. No sweat.

about spending the night in the Lima airportĀ· totally doable. Especially if you have a travel partner.

There are people sleeping along a corridor that is out of the way, sleeping in chairs in restaurants, and at the gate. Seeing as I am traveling alone, I am reluctant to sleep. I just checked my back and am heading to my gate soon to rest now I don't have that 23.5 kilo weight around my neck.maybe I will catch a few zzzzs

Also, free wifi at Starbucks



Won't have photos till Ifigure how to get them on my iPad or cafe computer

With love, Robinita

Advertisement



10th October 2013

Congratulations!
I hope you find some sleep soon ;) Congratulations on getting there and starting to fit into a different culture!
11th October 2013

glad you arrived
and glad to be a "friend" x
12th October 2013

Let me clarify that the friend I mentioned is Kellee Morris.
Kellee is my prime guide in this whole adveture. If you want any information about travleing in this area, she is your gal! The driver is Emanual, who I met yesterday. He is very kind and has been working with Kellee for 8 years! He took me to get money changed and showed me around. So glad she is here!

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb