Clowning About


Advertisement
Paraguay's flag
South America » Paraguay » Concepcion
February 5th 2008
Published: February 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I had a very enjoyable week last week, I dressed up as clown every day for all our kids clubs. It was great fun, I really do love pratting around. As such, I'm considering eschewing a real career in favour of spending my life working at Disneyland dressing up as Disney characters. I think it's a solid life plan. Alas my father doesn't agree.

Thankfully there are is no photographic evidence of my week as a clown, so my dignity remains intact. Claire wanted to take photos, but she is forgetful and I neglected to remind her. I wore a multicoloured curly clown wig, facepaint, bright pink clothes and a massive pair of pink glases that were the size of my head. At the first kids club where we were doing this they asked us clowns (Norma was being a clown too) what our names were, Norma said her name was 'Beautiful' in Spanish and said that my name was 'Byebye-i' well I didn't know what that meant so I just went along with it, found out afterwards that it means ugly in Guarani. So that was nice. We had a while routine going on where we'd play games and Norma would do it wrong and then i'd be able to do it easily, so I got to be the intelligent clown. Untill they took my big glasses off me, then i walked into things pretending to be blind without them. All good fun.

Other than being a clown I have not done an awful lot. Started doing English lessons with Zunni again, so life in Paraguay is back to normal. Apart from the tiny detail of the car being broken, and not going to be fixed. So we have to walk or get the bus everywhere, which in nearly 40 degree heat, is pretty much killing me.

On a happier note, I found BBQ sauce in a shop here in Concepcion the other day, it was truly the happiest I've been since arriving. There best be BBQ sauce in heaven is all i'm saying.

I'll be going up to Asuncion (the capital city) on Thursday and staying until Monday for my birthday. There's a girl called Maryke who I met at the training weekend in England before coming here who is spending a year teaching English in a school in Chile who is traveling South America in the school hols and is coming to Asuncion for a bit, so it will be really nice to see her again, and to see Elaine again as she went back to England for christmas so I haven't seen her in ages either. So yes, that's the plan. I do not want to be 21, I did not sign up for this growing up, real life malarkey.

Essay update: 2000 words in, half way baby! I normally leave everything till the last minute so this is very impressive for me considering it doesn't need to be handed in untill mid June.

This has been, as ever, a fairly pointless and boring blog. Sorry about that.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0216s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1013.5kb