Last Days in Asuncion and Crossing the Dodgy Paraguayan Border at Night (Sorry Brett Has All the Pictures from that Night on his Camera)


Advertisement
Paraguay's flag
South America » Paraguay » Asunciòn
May 30th 2011
Published: May 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Saturday night after the soccer game we went out to a bar called Killkenny. We decided to walk and it took us about an hour but it was well worth it, we got to see a lot of the city that we hadn’t as of yet and it was really cool. The bar was an Irish place that reminded us both of Novi and Gus O’Connor’s. The whole setup of where the place was located looked like Novi and the fact that it was an Irish place in the middle of Asunción was kind of funny. They showed two movies in the bar, Unstoppable and Hall Pass. Both of which I had never seen, nor had I ever been privy to watching a full movie uncut in a bar before, I was talking to some girls next to me and they said that it’s pretty commonplace in Paraguay. We had some dinner and a few beers and then the girls next to us were going to a club nearby and asked us we wanted to go with them. We said sure because we wanted to see what the nightlife was like in Asuncion. Brett and I hopped in the car with one girl and the other two girls went in another car. I am glad we went with them because we pulled up to what appeared to be the swankiest club in Asuncion; it would be swanky in Chicago for Christ’s sake. It was the upper class people of Asuncion there, we had to be on a list to get in, and good thing we were with the girls because they knew the door guy so we all got in. they give you a card when you enter and you put all your drinks on that card and they just run it at the end when you leave and then you pay, I’d never seen anything like that before but it’s pretty genius I guess, gets people drunker quicker when the bartenders don’t have to worry about taking cash or payments. We danced for a while and we decided that Paraguay, or at least Asuncion has the best looking girls of anywhere we had been on this trip so far. They were just stunning. We left the club around 6am, Brett lost his fleece much to his chagrin and we made our way back to the hostel. The next day Brett left for Incarnacion where there are some Jesuit ruins to see and I went shopping for some clothes for work which wasn’t all that fun since I spent a lot of money and just shopping in general doesn’t interest me, especially when it’s for work clothes. I caught a bus out of Asuncion at 1900 for Buenos Aires, I spent about two hours in the terminal, watching “Anaconda 2” (the anacondas have heat sensors) and the bus finally came and I got on it. At the border between Paraguay and Argentina it was pretty dodgy to say the least. We all had to get off the bus and put our bags through scanners, but what’s more, the idiots at the Paraguayan embassy didn’t fill out my visa correctly and they forgot to put how long it was valid for so I had to explain to the lady at customs what the deal was and that was about a fifteen minute nerve racking ordeal. After r that some dodgy asshole grabbed my bag and told me that he wanted $50 US to carry it through the scanner for me, then he generously lowered his price to $20 US and I told him in my best Spanish to fuck off. I guess that’s what you can expect on the border of the most corrupt country in the world and Argentina. But like I said before, the majority of Paraguayans I met were wonderful, welcoming people and they were happy to have us in their country. I was happy to go and hope that someday I’ll be able to return. I’m just finishing this 19 hour bus ride; we have about an hour left so hopefully it goes quickly. I have to get to my hostel and sort out my life soon so wish me luck with that.

Advertisement



3rd June 2011

I loved everything of your travel, I hope one day I can travel as much as you, sadly whether our country is the most corrupt country in the world due to some people of the goverment.. i hope you can will return and see parts of the country you did not get to know... Ojala puedas volver algun dia!! saludos!! desde paraguay

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0946s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb