Things I've learnt in Asunción - 19 Jan 2011


Advertisement
Paraguay's flag
South America » Paraguay » Asunciòn
January 19th 2011
Published: January 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Chipa GuazuChipa GuazuChipa Guazu

It's better than Sopa Paraguaya
I'm back! I finally have a laptop that works, oh how I love you laptop that works, so these will be back up weekly. Here is your first installment for 2011, the weather report is HOT while the insect report is SERIOUSLY WAY TOO MANY.

Christmas lasts longer in Paraguay...the 6th of Jan has been and gone but only this week did people start bringing down the gaudy decorations and irritating musical lights.

Don't leave the kitchen windows open at night...because a cat might creep in and then scared the living shitelights (new word, I'm copyrighting that) out of you when you go for a glass of water at 2am. I'm just glad nobody heard my "Eeewwwooohhh" girly then manly gurgled scream as it rushed past me, I thought it was a rat.

There is no point dubbing Bernie Mac into Spanish...you just lose everything entertaining about him. R.I.P Bernie.

German words are funny...I flew in a Fokker 100 to Colombia, but I think the Fokker 50 is funnier!

Chipa Guazu is better than Sopa Paraguaya...I have had it twice in the last two weeks and I'm a big fan.

There are always worse jobs
Orange peelingOrange peelingOrange peeling

This was my first attempt at Paraguayan Peeling - not great
than your own...like the girl who was at the airport at 3:30am to carry the bags for her employer, a Paraguayan super model.

Paraguayans are just better at peeling oranges...Carmen uses a knife to take off the skin leaving the pith and then slices open the top to squeeze out the juice before actually eating the orange.

Question of the Week
"Why did you ask for Lemon ice cream?" Carmen to me after I suffered through it. Still don't know why I chose it, going back to chocolate and passion fruit from now on.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

The New BalconyThe New Balcony
The New Balcony

New House nearly finished...


Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb