St. Joseph's Day (Dia de San Jose)


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
March 18th 2007
Published: March 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Principal, Ecuador
Sorry, I don't have any photos of the party because my batteries died.
I haven't written in a few days because I was sick with a cold. Today Jose and I woke up at 4:30 a.m. to go to church. Every Saturday, until Easter, church is at 5 a.m. After church, Jose and I went to Gualaceo to buy things for my beauty class. We didn't go to the computer because Jose had a soccer game in the afternoon and we did not have time. We had lunch at my favorite restaurant in Gualaceo, La Costeña.
I took a long nap when we got home because there is a party tonight in celebration of St. Joseph's Day (San Jose). It is a church holiday and I don't really understand who St. Joseph is.
Later:
The party was fun. They have this cow called "Vaca Loca" (crazy cow), it is made from paper mache, and rigged with fireworks. A man runs around the Cancha, carrying the cow above his head, fireworks fly up into the sky. There is even a song playing during all this called "Vaca Loca".
After the cow did his thing, we danced and drank. I left the party early, like usual, and cleaned up the house, put away laundry, changed the sheets on the bed, etc. Jose stayed to hang out with his Uncle who is visiting from Cuenca. He said he will be back at 1:30 a.m.
I miss my family a lot today.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb