Magical Amazon Adventures


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador
January 13th 2023
Published: January 13th 2023
Edit Blog Post

This is a magical place. By plane, school bus and motorized boat we traveled from Quito to Coca and then to Yarina Ecolodge on the Madura River. This river connects with the Nopa River and both go into the Amazon. Before boarding the boat we walked into Coca to the market. Grubs were being sold on the street, a staple of the local diet. No takers from our group but I hear they're delicious. Medicinal herbs and mixtures are sold there by women who are learning to be shamens. Alfredo showed us cures for arthritis, covid kidney stones, and asthma from trees and plants in the Amazon. We ran through a rainstorm to the boat which took us to the lodge. Luckily the boat had drop down plastic sides. The rain stopped as we got close to the lodge. Pulling up we could see the thatched roofs of the cabins and a large open porch overlooking the river surrounded by trees. The grounds have beautiful plants and incredible bird sounds at all hours. I can't believe I'm here in this beautiful place surrounded by the rain forest.
We had a delicious lunch and got our cabins. They had enough space so I got a single and Naomi and I were on our own. We went out on our first hike in the rain forest at 4 for about 2 hours. Winter, an Ecuadorian Spanish speaking naturalist, joined us with his machete to clear the path as we needed it. He would do some of the explanations and Alfredo would translate. They stopped at different trees and plants and talked about their medicinal use and unique traits or how it was interconnected with the other vegetation. I tried to take pictures, jot down names, and even try to use my binoculars, all while walking in knee high boots in the forest. We saw and learned about the Yarin palm tree, known as vegetable ivory, bromeliad plants with pineapple shaped leaves, false banana plants, the papayello, that loses its thorns when it's ready to pollinate, iron palm trees, and the cannelete tree. These two men have an incredible passion for the Amazon and so much knowledge. The best part though was seeing the monkeys... squirrel monkeys jumping between trees. And a agouti walking along.
I'm writing this on our second day at the lodge. Each day we've had delicious fresh meals, always with a vegetarian options for me, mohitos at night, fresh lemonaid, and juices. We've chilled on hammocks and had lots of laughs getting out of them. We've gotten to know so many birds
We went out on canoes today to go to a spot to hike for about 3 hours, went out on motorized boats to go piranha fishing,(we didn't catch any but Winter did later) and on canoes through algae filled water to see so many incredible birds. I have to list the ones I have seen for my bird watching friends that may be reading this. I have no idea of spellings but the Oropendola that fly in and out of large nests right next to the porch. , great bill Ani, yellow headed vulture, chestnut macaws which were endangered, a yellow crown parrot high up in a tree, jacamas and their babies, yellow and black casikis,, flycatchers, and a night crown heron. Oh and the leaf cutter communities of ants hard at work and a gorgeous irredescent blue Morpho butterfly. There's so much more to write about but not enough time to do it. If I wait until I have time to write it all I'm afraid I'll forget a lot. I hope the pictures give you an idea of what we're experiencing.
Before I close I do have to write about Jersey Girls in the rain forest at night. Alfredo and Winter offered a night hike. Some of our group went last night. The 4 of us met our fears of the dark and the bugs and went out tonight armed with flash lights and our boots. What an incredible experience. They found scorpions, turantulas, huge earth worms, grasshoppers and spiders to show us. Three different kinds of tiny frogs, one poison and one glass frog. Twice we stopped and turned off the flashlights to hear the sounds of the forest and experience total darkness. Not sure Alfredo ever had 4 Jersey Girls, laughing and terrified at the same time, in the forest at night before but I'm sure he'll be telling his guide buddies about it.
I'm just so grateful to be here and be a part of these magical adventures!


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



15th January 2023

Love your commentary!!
Hi Marilyn, I’ve been reading ALL your blog entries - even from your other trips. At first I didn’t realize there were ‘additional photos’ and was happy to discover that. The pictures are great and you all look so happy! I also didn’t scroll down far enough to notice the ‘leave a comment’ but now that I have….. 😊 Your trip sounds AMAZING!!! I am visiting vicariously through you, cuz I don’t think I’ll ever make it there. I admire your adventurous spirit! Seeing all the wildlife and especially going on that night hike - WOW!! Proud of you! Maybe you’ll even eventually try some of those grubs!! 🤣 I love your writing style and appreciate that you have found the time to write about all your adventures. “Hi” to the others for me! Love, Shelley

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb