To Streak or Not to Streak...That is the Question


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West » Montañita
November 8th 2009
Published: November 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It´s Sunday...so there was no construction going on, so I was finally able to sleep in!

I got up around 11 then headed into town for breakfast...the usual. After breakfast I headed back to the cabañas for a nap before watching the surf competition continue around 2pm. Sandy, Elyse, and I headed to the beach around 2 to hang out and watch the competition...however it actually wasn´t starting until 3, so Elyse and I headed to La Punta to go out onto the point.

Big mistake to go without shoes since it is all coral and not too pleasant on the feet...but we managed to stick to the sides where the rocks were and did it with no problem. It was really cool out there...there were channels under the corral for the waves to travel through, and then up through cracks to where we were above...VERY VERY cool.

Afterwards we headed back down the beach to join the rest of the hostal people to watch Isidro (the spanish school surf instructor) compete in the longboard competition. He was pretty good. He also managed to get me a shirt for the competition...since I registered already...so I got a shirt!

After the surf comp, we headed back to change and go out. When we got back, we met some new people from Germany. We all went out for food...most of them went to the street vendors, but I really wanted to go to WipeOut (apparently the best, but most expensive place in Montañita)...since it was my last night in town, I can splurge. So of the 7 people that went out tonight, Ben and I were the only ones to get food at Wipeout while everyone else drank...it was good to have the company.

After dinner we headed to the Pool Bar. I left my hoody there the night before and was hoping it was put away and not stolen...luckily it was in the back hidden so I got it back. After a few games of pool I headed down cocktail alley to join Braden and Raya for some drinks at Edison´s. They dared me last night to streak cocktail alley and gave me gruff tonight because I "disappeared" last night...so I told them around midnight I would do it.

I wasn´t in the mood for drinking, so I was sticking to coke. At 11:45 they reminded me of what was to come...I told them I was game. So instead of waiting til 12, I stripped down and ran down the row of bars and lots of people...and had some standing ovations from quite a few clothed spectators. I made it to the end, got dressed, and returned from whence I came. It was a fun time.

Around 2am (still no drinking) we called it a night since we were on the 4:45am bus to Guayaquil. I made it back to the hostel and packed my bags to have one less thing to do when I got up. Once everything was done, I decided to take a dip in the pool sans boardshorts. It was nice. Now that everything is finished, I set my alarm for 4:01 and it is now off to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb