No Surf for Me


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West » Montañita
November 7th 2009
Published: November 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Oh boy.

Around 12am I woke up with a bad stomach ache and felt like I did the day of my first tri-sprint last summer...very sick and felt like my stomach wasn´t willing to digest anything...looks like I have food poisoning. So needless to say, the inevitable happened and I purged at around 1230. It didn´t feel like all of it came up so I drank some water and went back to bed. Around 3am I woke up again and again purged, this time everything else came up and I was now...hopefully...good to go to get some sleep and surf in 6 hours.

Low and behold, around 4am, I hear some REALLY loud music get turned on that sounded like it was coming from the beach...the base was incredible. I could not sleep for the life of me. All I could think about was getting a hatchet and smashing all the speakers of the place and not caring...bc not only was I sick, but now I was extremely exhausted as well. Every once in a while it would turn off, then back on 3 minutes later!!!! I kept waiting, and tossing and turning, all fruitless. Around 730am I got up, took a shower and noticed some people in the dining room so I joined them...mind you the music is still blasting. We all talked about how it kept us up last night.

I walked down the road to see where it was coming from and it was coming from a house that was 2 properties over from the cabañas. The guy was passed out on his hammock with the music BLASTING! I yelled several times "Hola Amigo"...no response. I wanted to just walk into his house and turn the music off, but didn´t want to get attacked with a machete for trespassing! I headed back to the cabañas to toss and turn some more. About 10 minutes later the music was turned off..YAY. At this point, I had no sleep, was super dehydrated from vomitting out of both ends that I had to sacrifice surfing in order to try and get my health better for the trip to Peru on Monday...def do not want to travel while sick.

I slept til about noon and got up to get some gatorade and something light for lunch...I´m thinking pita and hummus. I went to hotel Montañita and ordered hummus with pita, and they didn´t have it, so I left. I went to Tiki Limbo and sat there for 10 minutes and didn´t get served, so I headed to the dreaded Ola Ola. Sat down and ordered...5 minutes later the power went out, so I thought I was royally screwed when it came to eating lunch...it did come out after about 15 minutes...for hummus?...Geez, that should have been out in 5 minutes or less!

I ate and then headed to crash on the couch in Montezuma. I napped there for about an hour then headed back to nap in the hammocks at the cabañas. I grabbed my blanket and napped in one of the hammocks near the pool until about 430/5. I got up, started moving around and moved to the chairs by the pool to actually sit up and start waking up. I chit chatted with Sandy who was in a neighboring hammock as well as a new chic from Belgium...Elyse.

Around 6/7pm a big group of us headed to Machu Picchu for dinner...I had chicken cordon blue again...only half of it since I´m still not 100% and a coke. After dinner we headed to the pool bar to play some pool. I sucked down some waters. Sandy and I were partners several games, but lost repeatedly. I walked down to the beach around 9 to watch some night surfing with Rob...really cool. I went back to the pool bar and sandy partnered up with Royal...a guy from Panama...so I picked up Elyse on my team...needless to say pool was not my game last night and I won ZERO games...oh well, maybe next time.

I joined the canadians in cocktail alley for a drink around midnight...lets see if I can hold one down. I ordered my usual pinapple mojito and made it through half when I started getting abdominal cramps. I headed to Montezuma to use the bathroom, but they were out of toilet paper, so I had to go back to the hostel to do my business....it got progressively worse, so I decided to call it a night and go to bed early. Let´s hope I feel better in the morning!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1193s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb