Bye bye Montanita


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West » Montañita
February 6th 2009
Published: February 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The last week or so in Montanita - 25th of Jan to the 3rd of Feb.



Our final week or so in Montanita passed really quickly, though I can't remember much happening. We continued with our classes and although we're not great, we can usually communicate what we want to say, even if it's grammatically incorrect!

We spent most of the week hanging out with the gang from the Cabanas, playing volley ball in the pool which turned into very competitive matches with chicken at stake, or watching movies and chatting. I was a bit ill for the week and fainted in the common room of the school so I spent all day Tuesday sitting on a deck chair at the cabanas.

I started cooking a lot more this week too to try save some money. Vegetables and fruit are cheap in town and I was able to make homemade tomato sauce with lots of vegetables and pasta for both Richard and I for less than 50cent. Bananas are 5cent each!

On Friday there was another BBQ in the cabanas with lovely red snapper. Richard and I made an apple crumble which went down a treat. Most of the Ecuadorians had never had crumble before and they really liked it. I was still feeling a bit ill so I went for a rest after a while. Richard said he’d wake me when everyone was going out, but he thought it was best to let me sleep and they all went out around 1am I think. I got up to go to the beach at 8am and Richard still wasn't home!

Although, we were meant to leave on Saturday we decided to stay the weekend because there was a surf competition. Montanita is known for having the best surf in Ecuador and there are always surfers in the water so we wanted to see professionals in action. I watched them practice near the Point on Saturday morning and I was impressed!

We were out again on Saturday night, savouring the last of the best cocktails in the world. I was on friendly terms with the man at the stall so I was able to decide which fruits went in my cocktails. Fun! It was also John's last night but it looks like he'll move down and set up a business there. I've been trying to convince him to give me a job!

On Sunday, everyone demanded we make another crumble. We ended up having a three course dinner including spicy chicken soup made by Shannon; rice, vegetables and tuna made by Andrea and Sinead and the crumble we made. Tom and Marie got chocolate ice cream to add to the mix!

On Monday, Richard and I went to the Point and watched the sun set. The Point is the reason Montanita has such good surf and the rocks there are really strange, like they belong on the moon. Waves crash up and through the cracks which is quite strange to see. We also ventured up to the Church on the top of the point, which is completely open and looks at the sea from three sides. Pretty amazing views.

That evening, there was a bit of a leaving party for us in the Cabanas and Tom and Shannon made lots of Italian food for everyone. Jim also made amazing passion fruit drinks. Really nice evening and we were sad to leave everyone. After spending three weeks in Montanita, we’d gotten to know a lot of people quite well. The rest of the trip will be pretty weird if we're only meeting people for two or three days and then never see them again!

We had to be up at 4.15 to catch the 5am bus to Guayaquil, from where we made our way to Cuenca.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



10th February 2009

Bye Bye
The Poitn sounds cool and the cocktails sound yummy. *Richard avert eyes* Were the surfer boys cute? That's really cool that you made friends. Maybe when you go to the other places you'll meet people and ye might all travel together for a bit. Who knows. Can't wait for the next episode. Dee xxx

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0606s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb