Sun...at Last


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West » Montañita
December 5th 2005
Published: December 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The sun has finally come out! It has been cloudy and over cast since I got here and (I can´t believe I am saying this) cold. It has been about 15-20c but the wind has made it colder. Everyone is laughing at me, being from Canada and finding it cold. I am beginning to settle in nicely here. I have been able to discuss what my job will be and basically, for those of you who remember the Love Boat, i am Julie McCoy! Pretty easy job. Just making sure that the guests are enjoying their stay, that they know about the day trips and encouraging them to go. If I want to, which I do, I also get to go on all of these trips. I know, tough job but someone has to do it!

I have met lots of great people already. This weekend ther has been a girl from Ireland and a girl from Austrilia....who is absolutley crazy...and we have had a great time. On the weekend the streets (all two of them) come alive with visitors, buskers and vendors selling bead and other jewlrey for ridicously low prices. The drinks are also great. Last night I guess they ran out of glasses so I got my Piña Colada in a pineapple! You certainly can´t beat the price....2 for $3. On Saturday the girls and i went out had a giant burrito, a beer and 4 cocktails in total and the price came to a whopping $9.75. I have also found a bakery that sells giant cinammonbuns (fresh daily) for $0.30....all I can say is yummy! There are a lot of locals who want to practice their english and have asked me to help them, so I am wheeling and dealing the english/spanish lesson exchange. This town is full of interesting people and even though it is small and quiet during the week I am not bored.

Surfing is coming along. i have lots of encouragement from the locals and the surfers here are not like elsewhere. These guys welcome you into their break...not get teritorial about it. The beach itself holds a whole host of surprises. Can´t say I have ever had to share a beach with cows, goats, turkey vultures and stray dogs! Keeps you guessing as to what you will find each morning.

Well gotta run. i know that some of you have been asking about photos, truth is that I haven´t really taken any because of the weather. I will though....I have sourced out a few good spots...and the I will try and figure out how to get them onto the site. Anyway, I will try and get a few posted soon. Oh yeah, as for postcards....may be a while. Not a post office or postcard for miles but I will be into other towns once the season starts so I will try and send some them.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb