Surf´s Up


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West » Montañita
November 30th 2005
Published: November 30th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So I finally made it into the waves yesterday, and failed miserably I might add, but today I am getting some more help. I am slowly picking up some more spanish words and today have made arrangements to practice my spanish with someone. In the meantime, I am "conducting" my own spanish/english lessons. These lesson consist of me going into the kitchen with two of the guys that work there and holding up items, sayning the name in english, they say it in spanish and we both repeat it. Obviously, these guys are trying to learn english. This morning we covered butter, marmalade and the ingredients for pancakes. It is always good for a laugh!

Yesterday, after the attempt at surfing and meeting a few of the locals, I walked up the road to a look off point. All I can say is it is amazing. Next time I want to go when it is sunny and get some photos. It is beautiful here. I am enthralled with all of the marine life(like the baby man-o-wars that washed up on the beach), the stuff I only saw in books or always wished I could find on the beaches at home....like cool shells. Life here is really simple. People work very hard, if you want fruit you go to the market....or buy it from those going door to door. Bread....which is mainly buns....comes from the bakery or the people going door to door, all fresh daily. Yesterday, while I was in town there were a couple of guys selling pineapples out of the back of their truck at a price of $0.25 each. That sure beats the $6 a pineapple I was paying at home. I have decided that today I will be getting some fruit, mainly mangos & watermelon. Lunch is definately going to be good!

Well gotta run so I can get the fruit and be back in time for my surf lesson!

PS. The sun finally came out for a little while yesterday...and I have the red nose to proove it! You would think I would remember to put on sunscreen after all these years!

Advertisement



3rd December 2005

Pictures
When are you going to start putting up some pictures?? I plan on taking the laptop to Nanny Jeans so she can check out the site. Enjoy your time in the sun! Chris

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb