Like a tourist in my own country


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West » Guayaquil
May 14th 2010
Published: May 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Playa - Las Nunez


Additional maps: Cuenca | Guayaquil - Quito

AMSAMSAMS

This is how Amsterdam people start the party!

It has been more than 7 years since I left Ecuador to go to Germany. I have visited a few times, but this one, after 2 and half years is planned differently. After backpacking in other countries sometimes alone or where I didn’t even speak the language I would like to travel backpacking in Ecuador. I’m not sure how easy or hard it is going to be for two reasons: first, Guayaquil is my city, my hometown, so people I know, family, food I like, places I know and haven’t seen in a long time are here making sometimes difficult to leave the city considering I’m just visiting for a “short” time. Secondly, I believe we (South American people) suffer from some sort of fear or paranoia and are therefore scared of traveling in our own countries, especially on busses and public transports.
...People might be RIGHT; I hope nothing happen to me. But the idea of not knowing my own country, I don’t like at all.

So, I started my trip flying from Cologne to Amsterdam, had a 4 hour stop. I decided to go to to Amsterdam city. Even though I had been there a couple of times and 2 to 3 hours are not enough to see much of the city, I decided to go to prove myself I was ready to backpack again. I was back on tracks! It was totally worth it, even though I thought it was kind of sad passing live at Schiphol Airport. Home base of KLM, all flight assistants with the same uniform was like being on a movie from the 60’s or 70’s ;-). Beside this, as I arrived to the airport, not even Mc Donalds was open, so had to fly hungry. I had no other choice but to sleep during the flight, my hip flask (or pocket bottle) would help.

The first week in Guayaquil has been good so far. I was received with a very nice breakfast with bolón de verde cocinado, frito, empanadas, coffee and fresh juice fruit. So far I have spend most of the time with the family, my mother came also to Ecuador and is flying back to Cuba soon. All friends are working all day so I have seen only some of them. I had attended to a civil marriage, it was one of the reasons I flew to Ecuador. The wedding is in one more week.

I’m going today to Olón, at the beach for the weekend. Hope to see Montañita, Puerto López and some other beaches and towns in the surroundings. The next trips will be decided spontaneously so the post will come after the trip with pictures and not before.
Hope you have enjoyed reading my post and my pictures.
Cheers you all,

Benji



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Ecuador from the airplaneEcuador from the airplane
Ecuador from the airplane

Some big mountains along the Andes
Ecuador from the airplaneEcuador from the airplane
Ecuador from the airplane

Some big mountains along the Andes
Malecon 2000Malecon 2000
Malecon 2000

Argentina's shift
Malecon 2000Malecon 2000
Malecon 2000

Ecuador's and Venezuela's shift


Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0638s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb