Relaxing in Guayaquil


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » West » Guayaquil
June 27th 2008
Published: July 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Me and DadMe and DadMe and Dad

Enjoying a much needed glass of wine after being tee-total on the boat!
It was sad to say goodbye to the Galapagos but I can't tell you how happy I am to be back on land and to sleep in a bed where I am not hanging onto the sides so I don't fall out! We enjoyed our final group meal last night at the restaurant Lo Nuestro in Urdesa. I celebrated being able to eat properly again by having Lemon Meringue Pie for dessert and Dad went for three courses!

Today we made the most of the sunshine and headed to the promenade Malecon created in 2000. It is still a work in progress but a credit to a city which is desperate to change its image and attract more tourists. The whole of the promenade is behind a metal fence and has lots of security guards along the whole route and right up to the top of the lighthouse some 440 something steps up from the promenade. We felt very safe and it was a lovely way to spend our last few hours in Ecuador.

Off to the airport soon to catch our fight back home via Madrid. Can't believe we have been away for 21 days. It has been fabulous with such variety and I would recommend the trip to anyone. It is hard to pick out any highlights as it has all been wonderful but if I was pushed I would say seeing the Volcan Tungurahua errupt; singing with the school children; and seeing the penguins and wonderful views/landscape on the island of Bartholme. Hopefully it will not be too long before my next big adventure. Watch this space!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Susan, Richard and meSusan, Richard and me
Susan, Richard and me

The Lighthouse


10th July 2008

glad you enjoy your visit to ecuador.
Hi i am so glad you and your father had a great time in ecuador. i am a native born but from Manta a city in the coast. Actually i am planning to move back to Ecuador soon after living in NYC for the past 35 years. Out of coincidence i came across your entries which were very amusing and very alive. Well i hope you and your father continue your journeys throughout the world and letting others know about them. Your entries will now encourage me to visit the other side or culture of my country thank you!

Tot: 0.238s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 42; dbt: 0.1065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb