Corican Adventure!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Corsica » Bastia
January 20th 2009
Published: January 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello all. Well I am on my travels again but this time with a bit of a difference. I have come to Corisca for four weeks as part of a European exchange programme between Universities and trainee/qualified teachers. I will be observing and teaching in a school in Bastia over the next four weeks as well as participating in a programme of cultural awareness organised by the UFM in Corsica. There are five of us from Derby University and we are staying in two apartments in Bastia in the north of the island. We are about a 30 minute walk from the school. So far everyone we have met is really nice and very proud of their Coriscan culture. They have there own language which they use amongst each other and also teach in school.

I am in a class of 26 children aged 10/11 and everyone speaks really fast so it is going to be a big challenge for me. So far I have sat through lessons on Maths and grammar dictations and it is a very didactic approach with lots of textbooks. Have the day off tomorrow to explore a bit of the town and may try and get to Calvi on Saturday.

Abientot.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.212s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb