One week to go!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Corsica » Bastia
February 6th 2009
Published: February 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, the time has flown by since my last blog. I have been settling in to life in Corsica and trying to get used to the long lunchbreaks and long days. I have also developed far too much of a liking for the delicious French pastries that are on offer but at least my 30 minute walk to school helps to burn off the calories. The weather has been very mixed but we have enjoyed some sunshine as well as lots of rain, high winds and a thunderstorm. No snow - yet. I think my French is improving slowly and I am beginning to understand more in the lessons and have now taught (or rather attempted to teach) several including English, Art and Maths as well as a lesson about Wirksworth and the differences between schools in England ans France. Luckily, I have a very helpful teacher who translates my French so that the children can understand it although she does have a habit of leaving me on my own with the children for up to an hour. Today, I had to improvise and taught a quick English lesson with head, shoulders, knees and toes and a game of hangman. Still, one week left and am looking forward to coming home. My lectuer from Derby is coming over on Tuesday to assess part of my lesson so will be glad when that is out of the way. I am going to continue with the Art lesson I started on Van Gogh yesterday.

Have managed to explore some of the island including Corte and the museum of Corsica, the beautiful seaside resort of Saint Florent and the archaeological roman ruins at Aleria. Was hoping to get down to Ajaccio but have been poorly so am going to stay in Bastia for my last weekend. It is Alina's birthday so we are all looking forward to going for a meal at the Old Harbour on Saturday night. Corsica is a very beautiful island and it is a real shame that I have not been able to do any hiking partly due to the snow on the mountains and also the downside of not having a car. I would definitely recommend hiring a car if anyone is coming for a visit as the public transport system is very expensive and infrequent.

Will try and add some photo's next time. Off to watch the children have their first sailing lesson this afternoon. Hope I don't get too wet! Nearly forgot to mention that we heard three gunshots from the apartment on Sunday afternoon but didn't see anything. Not sure if it was the mafia at work but the newspapers are full of daily assasinations so you never know. Hope to make it home in one piece.

Oh, also wanted to let everyone know if they hadn't heard that I am now an aunty! My brother and his wife had a little boy on 20th January called Brodie Gordon Scraggs. Can't wait to meet him when I come back.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb