Last ecuadorian post


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » South » Cuenca
December 16th 2010
Published: December 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hola folks !

Now it is time to say goodbye to Ecuador.
I was supposed to go to Loja from Cuenca to get a bus to Piura (the border through Loja is said to be easier and much safer) but there is one leaving tonight from Cuenca directly to Piura through Huaquillas (well, I have to change bus in Machala) and it takes about 10h.

So, I have spent roughly 2 weeks in the country, and it is definitely not enough to explore it !
I purposely skipped the coast because I already enjoyed the beach in Mexico, and I will again in Peru, but I am sad I did not go to the rainforest. Well, I have the chance to do it in Peru too...

The country shows so many diferent faces. From North to SOuth, you can feel the influence of the different cultures: Clothes, skin color, activities, ... it is very diversified and always joyful.Yeah, what I liked it that the country is joyful. Whatever the living conditions, very often poor, people have always a good spirit and a smile on their face. It just makes your day every morning !

Talking about the cities, I did not like Quito so much. Like very often in big cities, it is too much. Too many cars, too many people. And truly you dont always feel confident in regards of safety matters.
On the other hand, Cuenca is very nice (despite being the 3rd biggest city I think).
And the smaller the town, the nicer it is. See Baños. So exciting place.

Strangely, the country is full of nearly-new cars (pick-ups mainly) but you dont feel the people are rich. Quite wierd. And it is not just few new SUVs in the rich suburbs, everywhere in the countryside you can see the very recent pick-ups, whilst houses are falling appart.

The bus system is totally crazy. I have to thank Toyota engineering for the HINO buses. You cant imagine the roads they go on and how fast they drive on. Thoses buses are shock-proof !!

From cultural point of view (if you mean museums), the country is not on the A-list. You will rather discover history about the local cultures (living in the forest etc) than paintings. But for sight-seing, thumbs up on the numerous churches in towns. I cant even count how many they have in Cuenca !! Same for little parque/plaza, you find at least 2 or 3 in any towns over 5000 people.

The main interest of Ecuador is actually what you can do with the nature. Hiking, climbing, rafting, etc etc. This is a marvelous field of outdoor activities. And it is mind-blogging to spend most of your times over 3000m of altitude. I focused on mountain-biking because I was not so well equipped for hiking (well, bullsh!t I am too lazy to go uphill actually) but this is a perfect place here for climbers.

I hope you could read some of my posts and it gave you the envy to visit this little paradise.

I am not as sad as I was when I left Mexico because plenty of good stuffs are waiting for me in Peru. And culture is quite similar so it will be a nice continuation..

Keep on following and give some news !!

That s all folks. Next post from Peru.






Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb