Southern Highlands


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » South » Cuenca
May 21st 2010
Published: May 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Guayaquil - Cuenca


El CafesitoEl CafesitoEl Cafesito

The hostal restaurand and rooms
On Tuesday the 18th I packed my back (light) and took a bus to Cuenca. Cuenca is a beautiful colonial city and it is a Unesco World Heritage with 417.000 habitants and is 2.530 m. above the sea level.

The bus ride took around 5 hours, the bus was fortunately comfortable and even though I wanted to appreciate the landscape, especially going up the mountains from the Andes, I fall asleep. On the road you can see the different location you are. The closest you get to the mountains the climate is different, even the air you breath smells different. The plants are also different: after about 45 minutes ride, huge banana plantation can be seen among others like rice.

After arriving in the evening in Cuenca I checked in a Hostel called el Cafecito, it was very nice. This place is crashed from backpackers around the world willing to chance experiences and tips on where to go, what to do, etc. The first night I couldn't sleep much, not because of the hostel, but from the sunburn I got at Olón. It was actually wicked, after a day, my skin was peeling off already.

In Cuenca I
IngapircaIngapircaIngapirca

Wall of the Inca, the ruins dates the period of the Incan dominion during the 15th century
took a look of the beautiful town, one ride to see the Ruins of Ingapirca and Parque Nacional el Cajas, where I climbed from around 3.800 m. to 4.264m. high, categorized as difficult. On the top, it was very hard to breath, making the journey even harder. My motivation was the sight, which was totally worth it.

In Cuenca I met some nice people there, as Ecuadorian; I tried to show them some different Ecuadorian food that foreigners usually wouldn't eat. The best dish was typical "hornado" (is roast pig, cooked whole). Prices in Cuenca are low, especially for Ecuadorians. So I had a very nice trip and spend a few bucks, maybe less than if I would have stayed in Guayaquil.

On Thursday the 20th of May I took the bus on my way back to Guayaquil at 23:30 arriving home at 5 am. Today Friday, I’m going to Punta Blanca, Salinas and maybe Montañita.


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

IngapircaIngapirca
Ingapirca

with pur guide
IngapircaIngapirca
Ingapirca

Horny dogs


23rd May 2010
El Cajas

Emelec !!

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 56; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb