Hola from Ecuador


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
August 19th 2006
Published: August 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hola,

I arrived two days ago! I feel quite fortunate to have arrived in one piece (ok slight exageration). My first flight was hit by lightning the second had to be diverted because of a volcanoe eruption... you know your in South America when the piolt annonces a change of plans because of volcanic activity! Since arriving I have spoke to quite a few travellers who were in the area of the volcanoe and had to be evacuated!

I have to apologise as it seems like there won't be any pictures to go with this blog well not untill I come hope as I have forgotten by lead to upload the pictures... at least it wasn't my passport. This oversight might have had something to do with the mad rush the day of the flight (iun true Joanna style), I still had a few items of equipment to buy and ran round town like a mad lady... if only I was organised!

Quito seems really nice, I was waiting for a bit more of a culture shock which hasn't happened yet but there's still time. It doesnt hit you the same way Africa does. The hostel is beautiful, good breakfasts and lots of friendly people. Although I'm on the top bunk and it has no rails so I have a feeling one of these nights I'm going to walk up on the floor I've already lost a book some water and a clock I feel sorry for the person bellow!

Yesturday I went to the 'mitad del mundo' the equator suposedly plotted out by a French explorer although he got it slightly wrong woops. However the Inca's ploitted the equator perfectly before the inventions of GPS (although I dont think the french had GPS in the 18th century but I could be wrong). They have only just dicovered the Inca line marked out by Inca sites and important buildings around 6 years ago.

Well its 7 in the morning and I better go for breakfast... pancakes mmmmhhhh. As you can tell by the crazy time I'm not sleeping at the moment part altitude part time difference in quito we're 6 hours behind uk time. I got a bit of a shock when I borded the plane and asked how long it would be I hadn't banked on it being as long as 15 hours! Any way I really must go I'm going to Octavalo today its an local market in the hills.

Lots of love
Joanna

Advertisement



19th August 2006

Hi Jo! Gosh, your plane was hit by lighting? If that had happened to me, I wouldn't be getting on a plane home, I'd be adopting Ecuador as my new home. Sounds like you're having a blast (pardon the pun) and I look forward to further installments of your adventures as they pan out. Oh, and I'll also expect to get a firm grip on Salsa while you're out there so you can teach me when you get back! Take Care Paulxx
23rd August 2006

Hey Joanna Banana Sounds like you have had an adventure already.......lightning plane!! OMG!!! Think I would of cried... Glad you finally arrived in one piece though and sounds like you are having fun.......shame we wont get photos but maybe you can do a slideshow when you get back!!! hehehe I am in Barcelona now and waiting for my brother and cousin to get ready so we can hit the beach and sunshine!!!! Miss you already....look forward to the next episode of Joanna travels Love Jenny Wren xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
27th August 2006

Hey Foxy Lady!
Fab to read of your travels! Missing you on our nights out! Hope your teaching the South Americans how to belly dance! So how many times have you got lost by now J??? Big hugs, K xxxx
3rd September 2006

yo yo yo Jo yo
ey up lassie, just polished of me last pie up ere in yorkshire, sent yees an inter web E message wotsie to wanna mae, am a best writing it doon ere or wot?! xxx
5th September 2006

hey joanna glad to hear you're having a fab time! i'm at work on nights at the mo- but only three more to go till i go on hols! hope you're meeting some good potential tango partners along the way!! lots of love xxx look 4ward to the nxt installment! X

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1017.3kb