First Day of School


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
January 11th 2011
Published: January 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well today was the first day of field experience and I gotta say holy crap... what a school! I was kicking myself the entire time for not taking my camera but that will be rectified here shortly as I have friends who did and they are more than willing to lend me some of the pictures. I am in a fourth grade class and the students are awesome, very cute and I am absolutely amazed at their english! My teacher is very kind and supportive and I know that I will learn a lot from her through the next 74 days in the classroom. Cumbaya Valley is 1,500 feet lower than Quito and just a little warmer and by that I mean perfect weather. The school is huge, four acres, and the buildings are all open to the cool/warm spring air with absolutely amazing student artwork all over the walls. This is going to be some experience... Driving down into the valley today you couldn't see much due to the massive amount of fog (low cloud cover) but on the way back (in our bus-van thing packed with thirteen people) the air was clear and the entire valley is surrounded by green mountains. Gorgeous... Kennesaw Mountain can suck it because it's simply a joke comapred the the Andes. This saturday I may be going to my first Volcano, Pinchinchua and I must say I am extremely excited about the prospect. This really is the experience of a life time and I appreciate all of the well wishes and support! I'll post pictures soon!

Sincerely,
Evan

P.S. The milk in a box is actually not bad... sure it wasn't refrigerated in the stores but after putting it in ours my Fruit Loops tasted great!

Advertisement



12th January 2011

So jealous
Hey. Glad you guys made it safe. You also made it out just in time. None of us have been able to start our ST yet due to insane weather here. We are all snowed in. The pictures that I've seen so far are beautiful. I am quite jealous of you guys right now! I posted on Stacy's wall that that school looks ten times better than any school we have here. Ours look like prisons comparatively. Anyway, I'm happy for you guys and have fun at the volcano!

Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0184s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1009.4kb