INTERNETS!!!!!11!!!!1!!!11!!!!!!!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
January 10th 2011
Published: January 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Holy smokes! I'm here! And alive! We just got the internet which has been a huge blessing so that I can get in touch with and update everyone about my experience. Yesterday was my first full day here in Quito, all we did was wake up late and stumble around until we found a grocery store. What an experience that was! I may not know much Spanish but we made it through the experience after an hour. It is interesting what they had and didn't have that we are accustomed to. That said, I still hold firmly to the belief that I did not pack too much as some things are just comfort oriented. O and no beef hotdogs, nor turkey. Hotdogs are made of chicken here in Quito and I must say don't taste all that bad! The consistency is a little different as is the taste but not bad.
The PS3 works! HDMI in the apartment so movies are a go. The apartment ins beautiful! As are the mountains behind some of the often spray painted buildings. I do believe we are in a good area though so don't fret too much about the spray paint. On
This is my room!This is my room!This is my room!

I can literally lay in any direction without my feet going over the side... and I'm 6'1.
the first night we got here I thought we were going to die getting to the apartment however as our driver was.... bad.... like most drivers here. I mean red lights? Who follows those! Today I woke up to the doorbell of the apartment as the tech guy came in to help us out with the internet. The weather here is nice, cold/cool in the morning and it reaches a perfect 65-70 in the afternoon. Looks like we are going to try out a different grocery store today as our food supplies are still rather limited.
The apartment provides safe water via a water cooler but Stacey and I have also divised a way to super clean our water. First it goes through my three stage (parasite preventative) PUR faucet filter, then we boil it and then it goes through a Brita pitcher! Thats some damn clean water. We can't have too many things plugged in at once here as it blows a fuse. First night we blew it probably 9 times, last night 2 so at least thats an improvement. I'm still new to this blog thing so give me time and stories and info will flow at
My ClosetMy ClosetMy Closet

My closet...
a smother and less jumbled pace!

Thanks so much for all of your support and well wishes! I'll keep in touch!

Evan


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Living AreaLiving Area
Living Area

These seats may look comfy... but they are as hard as a rock...
La Mesa y un PS3La Mesa y un PS3
La Mesa y un PS3

Our dining area and movie area!
Our KitchenOur Kitchen
Our Kitchen

The girls below us have a dishwasher... : ( we don't...


10th January 2011

EDITS!
Ghaa! Names of pics and all sorts of things are kinda funky... so please don't judge!
10th January 2011

looks like you have nice apartment great talking with you this morning.
10th January 2011

yay!
Your apt. looks amazing!!:) Have fun and GOOD LUCK tomorrow! I love you<3
11th January 2011
Photo 20

Cool picture.

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb