Estamos Enfermos :(


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
October 2nd 2005
Published: October 3rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well, it finally happened -- late Thursday night Brenna, Ami and I came down with something. When we went to bed it looked as though Ami was the only sick one among us, (he had a really high fever), but at some point in the night I began to have very odd, vivid dreams and nausea. I went to my Spanish lesson in the morning anyway, which turned out to be a huge mistake as I spent most of the time ill and unable to concentrate. After four painful hours, I dragged myself home and crashed on the couch, where I slept on and off for the next five hours. Brenna and Ami both went to their afternoon classes (even though neither one felt well). For awhile there it seemed as though Brenna was in better shape than Ami or me; now we all feel equally ill.

Needless to say, we've had a pretty uneventful, lethargic weekend. We did manage to leave the apartment yesterday to go to the laundromat and drop off our clothes (here in Quito the laundromats wash, dry and fold your clothes for you) and stop by Café Net. I called home, Brenna and Ami puttered around on the Internet, and then it was back to the apartment with our pitiful selves. Today we're off to find the Mega Maxi, which is supposed to be a super-sized Supermaxi. I'm not completely sure why we're going; I think it's mostly to get out of the apartment for awhile. We're all feeling better, although I'm still a little cautious about what I eat. (I was the only one of us to vomit this weekend, a fact which prompted Brenna to inquire as to the Spanish word for "vomit." The noun is "vómito" and the verb "vomitar," in case you're curious. She also had me look up numerous other words relating to our illness, but I'll spare you the details.)

In other news, we did manage to get a cell phone, but we're still working out the kinks. It seems that the calling card Ami bought for it (which apparently is the only way for folks from the U.S. to call us) charges quite a bit more than it advertised. So I'm not really sure where we stand on that whole issue, but if you're interested in knowing our phone number once we work all that out, drop me an email. (I'm not entirely comfortable posting our phone number online, as I'm sure you can understand.) But Ami did manage to upload Brenna's Pictures if you would like to look at them. There are several of the Basilica, our various rooms at Posada del Maple, our apartment and the view out our apartment window. I was not the photographer, so I take no responsibility for the photos involving stuffed penguins.

Thanks again for all the emails and comments! I love hearing from you 😊

Take care,
em

Advertisement



5th October 2005

crazy
u went crazy loco, inna gadda davita, gato en los pantelones
5th October 2005

uh, no . . .
i'm pretty sure YOU'RE the crazy one here!
26th October 2005

wait, no
gato en los pantelones? donde esta mis pantelones?

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb