Español: Day 1


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
September 29th 2005
Published: October 2nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

DogDogDog

One of the many dogs that enjoys terrorizing pedestrians. Unfortunately for me, this happy looking fellow is between me and my language school. (photo courtesy of BrennAmi)
Recently I received a great email from my aunt Charissa. She responded to my language-barrier frustrations by pointing out that the reasons for my frustrations is that I am accustomed to communicating as an adult but am now reduced to the level of a 2 year old. (She also provided a great deal of encouragement, and seemed more confident than I in my abilities to pick up the language, which was good to hear.) I was reminded of her email today during my first Spanish lesson at Vida Verde. After my instructor and I had gone over the alphabet and some basic vocabulary, she pulled out a puzzle -- the kind with large pieces, designed especially for small hands -- with all the letters of the alphabet on it. Fortunately I was far more entertained than annoyed, for it seemed only fitting that I should put together a child's puzzle on my first day of Spanish class. Eleven days in Quito, and already I have a far greater understanding than I expected of the challenges non-native English speakers in the U.S. face every day.

Vida Verde is a relatively small school, located on a quiet street (Leonidas Plaza) about five blocks from SAE. It takes about fifteen minutes for me to walk there from our apartment, during which I inhale roughly ten tons of exhaust from the buses, dash across a total of five lanes of traffic (like a true Ecuadorian, of course -- between, over and under cars, motorcycles and buses), stroll past the gated U.S. embassy, (admire the anti-Bush graffiti across the street), and then finally head down Leonidas Plaza, where my only concern (aside from dodging the moving vehicles which, although less intent on hitting you than the ones on the busier streets, should be avoided anyway) is the terrifying dog that hangs out on the roof of its residence and looks ready to jump on my head at any given moment. (WHY Ecuadorians let their dogs roam about on the roof is beyond me, but I do not approve. Death by leaping dog does not sound very appealing.)

My instructor is a very kind, patient woman who speaks primarily in Spanish and tends to use her Spanish/English dictionary only after it's clear that, in spite of her repeated explanations and hand gestures, I still do not understand. After four hours I was more than ready to quit for the day, and I think she was too. (Fortunately I did have a break in there and had an opportunity to chat with a couple other students. I met a girl from Germany who has been here about 5 days and is going to begin volunteering in a week and a half, and met up with my former next-door neighbor from the hostal, an Australian named Jennifer. She's off to the Galapagos next week; I'll try not to be too jealous as I flop through my Spanish lessons.)

Not much else to report. Brenna and Ami are both taking Spanish classes as well, although at two different language schools and in the afternoon. Yesterday was an absolutely fantastic day in terms of weather -- it started off clear as a bell with crisp blue skies, and by mid-afternoon it was POURING. About an hour before it started raining Brenna and Ami and I parted ways, (they went off to investigate work opportunities and I to sign up for classes at Vida Verde), and while I made it home before it started bucketing down, they did not. (Yes, they eventually made it home, and no, they did not drown.) After the rain tapered off I watched the fog slowly swallow the city. I love wet weather.

Hope all is well with you, mis pepinos dulces 😊 Later, gators,
em

Advertisement



1st October 2005

lucky
Wow -- what an adventure. You are making contacts and friends you will remember and perhaps keep for years to come. It is worth the struggle with pollution, crazy drivers, and your own sense of caution.
1st October 2005

:)
Sounds like you are having a great time. Wish I could see what you see!

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0724s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb