SAE, Spanish Schools . . . and Falafel


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
September 27th 2005
Published: September 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The best part of our new neighborhood is the man who drives around with barrels of fruit in the back of his pick-up truck broadcasting his wares over a loudspeaker attached to the top of the truck. As soon as I hear him I dash from window to window, trying to figure out where he's coming from and what he has this time. I can't really understand what he's saying, (but it looked like he had a bunch of piñas this time), nor have I bought anything from him, but I look forward to his arrival nonetheless.

Today the three of us forked over $30 each and joined the South American Explorers (SAE)club. In the long-run this will prove to be a worthwhile expense; as members we receive discounts at places all over the city, including many of the Spanish schools. Their "clubhouse" (sadly, not a poorly constructed treehouse with a rope ladder, but an actual building) has a small library, a book exchange, guide books, free internet, storage facilities, guided walks around Quito and all the information we could possibly want on volunteer programs, Spanish schools and places to visit in Ecuador, Peru, Columbia, Bolivia . . . The members write up trip reports any time they go anywhere, which are then available for other members to read when they are trying to plan their own trips. Today we researched volunteer programs around Ecuador (couldn't really find very many in Quito) and then took off to find some of the recommended Spanish schools. We went by five schools (although it felt like a lot more, but that could have been because a) I was starting to get hungry and b) most of the people we spoke with -- and by "we" I mean Brenna and Ami -- spoke primarily in Spanish, so my brain started to hurt after awhile). The schools ranged from very professional-looking to pretty laid back, and were located everywhere from the edge of La Mariscal to right in the thick of it. At this point I'm not sure where I want to go to take Spanish classes; I think I've narrowed it down to two, though. We'll see.

After we left the last school we saw a restaurant sign advertising falafel, and since Brenna and I were ravenous we practically dragged Ami into the restaurant with us. Today marks Day 9 in Ecuador, and out of all the restaurant food we've had this was the best meal. Ironic, considering it's probably the most un-Ecuadorian food we've consumed. But boy, was it yummy 😊

(This Internet cafè is so amusing. Most days they play Spanish music I can't understand (shocking, I know), but right now they're playing System of a Down. Odd.)

Not much else to report. Hope all is well with you!

Ciao,
em

P.S. Before I forget, here's my address should the spirit move you to send some snail mail my way. It's the address for the South American Explorers, which is probably more reliable than trying to mail me something at my apartment:

Emily Metrock
c/o South American Explorers
Apartado 17-21-431
Eloy Alfaro
Quito, Ecuador

Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0835s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb