Goats


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
October 5th 2005
Published: October 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The perils in developing a routine is that you inevitably begin to believe you know exactly what to expect in your day. Today -- like every other day -- my alarm went off promptly at 7:30. I pulled myself out of bed, dressed, ate a bowl of Krispie Rice, gathered my Spanish notebook and homework, and headed out the door. Unlike the previous few mornings, the sky was cloudy, and the volcano to the east of our apartment (Cayambe) -- which we often cannot see at all -- glowed amid the morning clouds. It appeared as though it were suspended in the air, just pausing near Quito before moving on.

But in spite of the clouds and Cayambe, when I left the apartment I expected to see, smell and hear the same things I did every morning -- policia everywhere, taxis hellbent on squishing those pedestrians who forego their services, men in buiness suits, children in school uniforms, venders near the Embassy selling candy and soda. When I reached the base of our hill, however, and rounded the corner, I was greeted with the site of a man leading five goats at the end of a leash.

Yep. Goats. On Queseras del Medio. Nothing else of any importance has happened today, but that doesn't really matter. My day began with goats, and right now, that's enough for me. 😊

em

Advertisement



26th October 2005

OHMYGOD!!!
GOATS AND VOLCANOES!!!! I AM SO SO SO SO ENVIOUS!

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb