Otavalo


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Otavalo
August 10th 2008
Published: August 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Otavalo is a must on a Saturday. The street stalls and the main market are a special sight and its one of Ecuadors top attractions and the biggest market in Latin America. For many years indigenas from all the surrounding villages bring their crafts and produce from the hills for a fun packed day of bartering. You can find anything from food to weaving products, musical instruments, ceramics, clothing, carvings and souvenirs. It was a very successful days shopping and I managed to pick up a jade statue, a great indigenas picture and other bits and pieces. The bartering is good fun to watch. Fortunately I was with Quito locals so got good prices rather than Gringo prices-hurrah!! On the streets you can get amazing local food as well which is really cheap however they tried to get me to eat these horrible fish things which was very funny to watch.

Well that´s the last of the blogs. I´ve got a few more days in Quito than I´m planning on going to the Amazon for 3-4 days and then Banos. Rio De Janerio is the last stop on the RTW trip and I´m really looking forward to finishing off there. Its supposed to be one of the best cities in the world and you also have the Copocabana.......

I hope everyone is well back in blighty and I look forward to catching up with you all soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



13th August 2008

Have fun at the copacabana Meanie!!! See you soon. xxx
18th August 2008

hi from Mum
Hi Rob, I sent you a text on 16th to see where the next adventure is going to be...... I know now.....Amazon and Rio, fantastic! My trip to Newport, Rhode Island for the Jazz festival and to see the Tennis was great fun. A lovely part of USA. See you soon. Mum x

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb