¡Aves, aves, aves!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Mindo
December 31st 2005
Published: December 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey everybody, sorry I haven't written in a while. The internet connection is a little sketchy so I'm just going to give a brief update and then, what you've all been waiting for, pictures!
So, in brief, on Christmas I went to Chachimbiro hot springs, but I didn't actually go in. I spent the entire time looking for birds. It was so fun that I decided to switch the focus of my trip. I had thought that I didn't want to spend all my time chasing after birds because I'm going to do that for three months. The next day I went back to Quito and spent the day getting my clothes washed and all that good stuff. The next day I traveled to Mindo, a tiny town that is a birding mecca. I've been here pretty much ever since. I'm staying with a really nice family in a hostel (which is also their house). The dad is a birding guide and I've been out birding with him two mornings. The mom speaks english, which has really been nice.

The first day I went by myself, and I took lots of notes on the birds I saw and when I got back to my book, I could ID almost all of them. That afternoon I visited a butterfly farm and an orchid garden. The area surrounding Mindo is really beautiful, so it's been fun just to walk around.

The second day, I went birding with Marcelo, the guide. We saw almost 50 species, including toucans, a quetzal, and tons of beautiful tanagers! That day a family came to stay at the hostel and I went horseriding with them in the afternoon. That was incredibly scary. I was on this huge stallion and they had us going on really steep trails. I got down after like 20 minutes. Yikes. That night I played cards with them (spades) and I totally wiped the floor with them. I know, hard to believe.

The third day (which was yesterday), I went birding with Marcelo and the family. That was fun, but we didn't see as many species. That afternoon I decided to try to make my way to the coast, so somewhat impulsively I got on a bus going in that direction to a town at a big road junction. I got there last night and it was really just a dismal
San Antonio de Ibarra ChurchSan Antonio de Ibarra ChurchSan Antonio de Ibarra Church

We went here on our way back from the hot springs on Christmas. The town is famous for its woodcarving.
place. I tried to call a bunch of hotels in a town near "the poor man's Galapagos" to see if they had space for tonight. Unfortunately they were all either full or their phones didn't work. So in the morning I just headed back to Mindo to spend New Year's with the family here.

So that's where I'm at now. I'm going back to Quito tomorrow and then I have a little less than a week to have another adventure. Hopefully involving birds. I might still head to the coast or I might stick to the mountains. I just haven't decided yet. I'll keep you posted.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

At the butterfly gardenAt the butterfly garden
At the butterfly garden

Butterflies waiting to happen.
BirdingBirding
Birding

Pale-mandibled Araçia (a toucan, not sure about the spelling.) the connection here in Mindo is really slow, and it's taking a long time to upload photos. I promise to do more when I get to Quito.


31st December 2005

Butterfly Farming Question
When I was in Puerto Rico I saw a shop with artwork that was ~50 Monarch butterflies in formation. It was extremely cool. The literature said that they didn't kill the butterflies, but that they were raised on a butterfly farm and had died naturally. So is that the case? Keep up the blog this is great fun.

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb