Más fotos


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » North » Quito
January 2nd 2006
Published: January 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

at the butterfly farmat the butterfly farmat the butterfly farm

This is the case in which the pupae hatch.
I'm back in Quito for a day and half. Nothing much exciting is happening. Here are some more pictures!

A few people have asked about the butterfly farm, so I have included some more photos from there. They raise the butterflies (maybe 20 - 30 species) from egg to caterpillar to butterfly. There are separate areas for the different stages. They keep about half of the adult butterflies in a net-enclosed garden and release the other half into the forest. Uncle David - I'm not sure about your question, because most of the butterflies that I saw that were dying looked really ragged (like the Owl Eye on the right in the photo with the banana). I'm sure it's possible that they could have collected enough good-looking ones, though.

I hope you enjoy the pictures. I'm heading out tomorrow, I'm not sure where yet, but I'll let you know when I get there!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

at the butterfly farmat the butterfly farm
at the butterfly farm

Owl Eye butterflies eating an overly-ripe banana. You can see why they call them "owl eyes", but if you look hard, you can also see a snake's face on the top of the wing.
at the butterfly farmat the butterfly farm
at the butterfly farm

a butterfly on an orchid
at the butterfly farmat the butterfly farm
at the butterfly farm

me holding an Owl Eye butterfly.
at the butterfly farmat the butterfly farm
at the butterfly farm

A butterfly hatches in the pupae case.
at the orchid gardenat the orchid garden
at the orchid garden

I don't think this is an orchid, but it is a pretty plant.
at the orchid gardenat the orchid garden
at the orchid garden

The orchid garden was squished into a pretty small area, and chunks of moss with orchids growing in them were just laying around everywhere.
Roadside HawkRoadside Hawk
Roadside Hawk

A common buteo. Both of the bird pictures were taken with my camera by Marcelo, the guide.
BirdingBirding
Birding

Me on the birding trail the first morning with the town of Mindo behind me (and way down in the valley).
Cock of the RockCock of the Rock
Cock of the Rock

A fuzzy picture of one of the most impressive birds that we saw the first morning. Google it (with quotes!) if you want to see a better picture of it.
My first nest in Ecuador!My first nest in Ecuador!
My first nest in Ecuador!

This is a nest that I found the second day of birding in Mindo. It was being built by a Red-faced Foliage Gleaner. Can you see it? It's really messy-looking.
MindoMindo
Mindo

The main drag in Mindo.
MindoMindo
Mindo

The view from the second story porch of Rubby Hostel.
MindoMindo
Mindo

The family of Rubby Hostel (minus Rubby) Norma, me, Isaac, and Marcelo.
MindoMindo
Mindo

And just for fun - this crazy little creature, an "amarillo" (Spanish for yellow). He was in the street outside the house before birding one morning. I don't know the English name, but it seems like it's probably related to porcupines.


2nd January 2006

Great Pictures
Great Pictures Becca! I like the pics of the wildlife, but I also really like the pictures from your window or balcony, and the pics with the people you've met. The pictures remind me of "The Mortorcycle Diaries". You need to pick up some native garb, and you'll fit right in. XOX MOM

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb