No camera but a nice big raft


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » East » Tena
June 27th 2005
Published: July 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey there yáll, this is Rich. I previously informed you how fantastic i was, but it seems that needs qualification. Sorry bout the camera, and the lack of photos means more text. We have no photos of this excursion, but we went rafting on class three plus rapids, which is pretty cool but not life threatening. Big waves, big rocks and lots of getting very wet. I tried to comfort myself by stating that the camera may not have survived that anyway, but the guide pointed out he had a dry bag. So did I, I just left it in my other pocket.

Overall we rafted 25 kilometres of rapids with damn fool names interspersed with periods of calm in which to pretend we weren´t tired. The trip took about five hours overall, and in that time we only managed to capsize once, which was NOT my fault, whatever anybody says. We also swam three sets of rapids, two of them deliberately (see above) and, according to Jen, the highlight was the chocolate cake we had for lunch, but I got quite carried away finding various fish and stuff that were, if i´m honest, really quite dull, but I liked them.

For some reason that still elludes me, our guide got very excited about balancing rocks on top of one another, this seems to be quite the sport round here, cos apparently it´s easier than elsewhere (because of the equator). You wouldn´t know though. I can´t do it. Overall the whole thing was great, made better by the lack of yanks, and we´re going to try class four soon enough.

Cheerio.

Advertisement



2nd July 2005

dry bag
ok rich, next time .....if there is a next time dont forget the dry bag to keep the camera d.y or you might end up swimming with the fishes not eating them.

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0627s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb