The Caribbean Coast - Colombia


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia
December 20th 2004
Published: December 20th 2004
Edit Blog Post

I think this is going to be the hardest entry to put together because I've taken over a 1000 photo's since my last diary entry(which if the link to it didn't work when you got the email just hit "previous entry" to check it out). I've been up to a lot of very cool stuff including Scuba Diving, a Chiva ride, been to real deal Cock fights, swimming and sunbathing on the Caribbean Coast... but last night I arrived in the Capital Bogota and tonight I fly down to Cordoba, Argentina where I'm going to have Christmas with my friends from there. It's a real shame to leave Colombia because the people here are all so friendly and evreything else is great too - but now I'm really amped for a great Christmas down in Cordoba then maybee New Years in Buenos Aires so I'm sure I'll survive. Merry Christmas to you all if I don't get my act together again before then(highly likely), I hope you all have a fantastic time wherever you are, Big love - russ.


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

the Gomez familythe Gomez family
the Gomez family

That's Lucho on the right, who introduced me to this family one day on the beach. they are fantastic! they took me back to there house, fed me up on typical(delicious) Colombian food, introduced me to their family tradition of Cock fighting(chickens that is...) and after a week of hanging out of them on and off, presented me with a couple of pairs of specially made leather sandles that they got their cousin to make up for me. Very cool family who I hope to see again one day.
A couple of cocks lining eachother upA couple of cocks lining eachother up
A couple of cocks lining eachother up

It's not something I'm going to make a habit of but it is a huge part of the culture up here on the coast and it was a really good experience
Una EspuelaUna Espuela
Una Espuela

this is what they attach to the back of the Roosters legs so that each kick that comes down on the other ones back or head has a bit more of an effect. still some of the fights last over 10mins!!!
Then on a happier note...Then on a happier note...
Then on a happier note...

this is one of the beautiful points that jutts out from the beach around Santa Marta
Me, Eva, Andreana and PascalMe, Eva, Andreana and Pascal
Me, Eva, Andreana and Pascal

this us on the Taganga Beach where the weather is so warm we're still sitting on beach and swimming at 6pm!
Tagangan Fisherman killing the time by playing DominoesTagangan Fisherman killing the time by playing Dominoes
Tagangan Fisherman killing the time by playing Dominoes

note how the losers have to hang rocks off their ears...
"Taking the plunge""Taking the plunge"
"Taking the plunge"

gayest caption I think I've come up with yet but I had to put something, sorry if i let you down
Back in CartagenaBack in Cartagena
Back in Cartagena

one of the many good feeds that Mrs Gomez dished up for me, and that other guy is Richard from Canada who I brought home to meet the family one day.
Beach lifeBeach life
Beach life

all we wanted to do was sit down and enjoy a beer at the beach but these ladies wouldn't have a bar of it, they insisted that we had hundreds of knotts in our backs and needed a half hour massage... alright.
tradicional "morchalitas"tradicional "morchalitas"
tradicional "morchalitas"

everyone has one of these over their shoulder around here. They're all made by hand and the good ones(on the right) can be worth up to $40 each which is very expensive for here.


6th July 2005

looking for a vacation place?.....
I am from Colombia. I was searching by the internet o good place to go for vacation this august... looking some where in the Caribbean or Europe, and I found this photos and the comments of somebody who went to Cartagena, Colombia, and had a lot of fun... I forgot for a moment how beautiful is my country and how incredible places you can enjoy there....Thank you Ross... Now I know where to go this august... Best Regards, Nataly
18th July 2005

I love colombia
I am from colombia its been a year since i went to colombia i the rest of my family and places like bogota and cartagena i love colombia hopefully i will go there this december for the holidays to vistit them
10th November 2005

C/gena
You speak beauful of my city cartagena. Thanks you.
22nd December 2005

Espectacular
Hola a todos, este sitio Casa El Carretero es realmente bello. Yo he viajado a Cartagena varias veces y me he quedado en varios hoteles, pero la experiencia que brinda Casa El Carretero http://www.casaelcarretero.com es unica. Me encanto la vista del Barrio El Getsemani desde la terraza de la casa. Se los recomiendo a todos.

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb